Folders Shared with me are syncing as internet shortcut in OneDrive on Windows PC

Anonymous
2024-06-08T04:53:55+00:00

Hi. I had some folders shared from different users in my OneDrive account. I had added the folders to my OneDrive with Add Shortcut to OneDrive button from Shared folders in cloud. The account is logged into a windows pc and every files including the folders shared with my were syncing fine until yesterday. Yesterday night the shared folders were completely removed from the Windows pc and folders are replaced with internet shortcut. This is such a big mess. I have tried unlinking the account and linking it back, changing the location of OneDrive on my windows pc and tried to get a new folder shared to my account and adding it to OneDrive. Nothing works so far. OneDrive has a big part in my daily activities. Please help me resolve this.

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2025-03-13T06:07:22+00:00

Here is the statement from the Microsoft OneDrive product group (Redmond USA) about the OneDrive Personal problem:

***This is related to a backend migration we are doing and unfortunately, we don’t fully support syncing shared folders in the case where one user has migrated and the other has not. We’re doing everything possible to accelerate things so that it can be resolved as soon as possible for users of the feature. When the accounts are migrated, there is automated logic that makes them go back to a syncing folder within several days.***I have heard, that shared Folder issue is gone.
The best thing is: WAIT and do nothing

Was this answer helpful?

200+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

3,079 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2025-03-07T22:09:00+00:00

    Another version is that sharing accounts are the last to migrate, which means it gets worse before it is solved. Maybe just a coincidence, but several people here wrote that sharing account stays old.

    This is odd because all my accounts have shares, yet only one is on the wrong side of the wall, the main one, sadly.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2025-03-07T22:05:21+00:00

    Another version is that sharing accounts are the last to migrate, which means it gets worse before it is solved. Maybe just a coincidence, but several people here wrote that sharing account stays old.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2025-03-07T22:02:33+00:00

    If you read the conversation it seems there's two different servers that don't communicate with each other.

    If the sharer account is in one server and the receiver account is on another, the issue in question happens and there's no way to fix it.

    A workaround is to create a new account and check which server it uses.

    But that workaround might be just temporary, since it seems that some are saying accounts that should be new are being migrated to become "old". Therefore we're unsure if the server that seems to be newer is actually newer or the other way around.

    A huge mess. The only thing that's clear is that there's at least two secret flavors of servers. Type A can't donate files to Type B or vice versa. No type AB or O to help us out avoid coagulation url links instead of the folder properly shared within the structure like before.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2025-03-07T21:59:15+00:00

    I have 2 accounts:

    1. "+Add New", has the "Search" option, supposedly old share menu everywhere
    2. "+Create or upload", NO "Search", new share menu in "My files" (but old share menu in "Home" and "Shared")

    1st is supposedly old (search+share menu), 2nd is new, but looks like the button is not indicative, as you have "+Add New" on new, but MikeWilliams (message before yours) has it on old, as well as me. In addition PauGuillamon (4 messages before yours) has "+Create or upload" on old, but I have it on new.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments