A Microsoft file hosting and synchronization service.
Ditto that - just tested - SharePoint deletions no longer have a prompt however a shared OneDrive file is prompting...
This browser is no longer supported.
Upgrade to Microsoft Edge to take advantage of the latest features, security updates, and technical support.
Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.
Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.
Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!
A Microsoft file hosting and synchronization service.
Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.
Ditto that - just tested - SharePoint deletions no longer have a prompt however a shared OneDrive file is prompting...
We are also no longer seeing this issue. OneDrive version number did not change, but the issue is gone.
i got an email that MikeD_980 replied and said microsof has rolled back this change (see below), but i can't find his response on this thread; this is a screenshot from the email:
however, i have noticed that i'm not having the issue today at all, so maybe this has been fixed!! i really hope so!! fingers crossed!!
do i *want to* "disable the auto-update task in the task scheduler"? if i do disable it, will my folders/files update? i'm not sure what auto-update does..... ?
The auto-update refers to OneDrive software downloading and installing updates for the OneDrive software itself. This task is not required for OneDrive to synchronize files. OneDrive does its own internal scheduling for that.
The risk here is that the old versions of OneDrive will stop working or have some sort of bugs that cause data loss which are fixed in newer versions of OneDrive.
Hi DMan__71,
Did you happen to disable the auto-update task in the task scheduler before reinstalling the Feb version? Here is something I shared in an earlier reply.
When you install the OneDrive app, it creates a Task scheduler job to enable auto-updates. After the first re-install it auto updated to the most current version again, so I had to go in and disable the task by doing the following:
Also, in one instance, I had reinstalled and before signing in it started to auto-update again, so quickly selected "Quit OneDrive" and went back into the task scheduler to disable the second task that was created.