Remove "Sign in to turn on offline access to your lists" OneDrive notification after removing work account that is no longer used

Anonymous
2022-10-23T14:14:08+00:00

I have recently removed a work account from my Windows 11 installation in my desktop and laptop. While the process has been smooth, there is however a leftover notification that appears during Windows start-up on both devices:

From OneDrive: "Sign in to turn on offline access to your lists"

When clicking on it, it attempts to log into the work account that I have already removed! Unfortunately I am unable to disable this notification from appearing every time I start the PC or laptop. I even attempted to unlink all accounts from OneDrive, and cleared all credentials in the hope that this notification no longer appears; however, after linking back my personal account, it still appears on Windows start-up.

How can I make sure that this notification no longer appears? Are there any places where the work account email is still cached? Can those entries be removed so that this is solved?

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | Other | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2023-06-12T11:03:10+00:00

Remove on HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run the key Microsoft.Lists that points towards C:\Program Files\Microsoft OneDrive\23.071.0402.0001\Microsoft.SharePoint.exe

Image

It's only been a couple of start ups, but this gets my vote as the simple solution, nothing else needed. I knew someone would come up with it, brilliant, thank you for fixing this annoying problem.

Was this answer helpful?

30+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

51 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2023-03-21T12:30:55+00:00

    Thanks for all the tips so far. I may have found the solution. As Arnie said:

    1. Close all running OneDrive and Sharepoint processes. I did this from TaskManager because although I can see OneDrive and quit it from toolbar, I can only quit SharePoint in TM
    2. Go to C:\Users\PROFILENAME\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\settings
    3. There should be folders named Business and Personal. Business will have a digit at the end. Delete the BusinessX folder that corresponds to the workplace account you've signed out of/disconnected from your PC (for me this was Business1 and I kept Business2 which is a current workplace MS account)

    Then:

    1. Also go to C:\Users\PROFILENAME\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\ListSync **** and delete the BusinessX account folder there too (again Business1 for me, depends for you...)
    2. Restart computer which will restart OneDrive for both personal and business drives.

    Fingers crossed -- and this has worked for me with two restarts to test.

    I guess it was the ListSync folder that contained the commands that set off the notification?

    Was this answer helpful?

    8 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2023-03-24T00:57:27+00:00

    Thanks for all the tips so far. I may have found the solution. As Arnie said:

    1. Close all running OneDrive and Sharepoint processes. I did this from TaskManager because although I can see OneDrive and quit it from toolbar, I can only quit SharePoint in TM
    2. Go to C:\Users\PROFILENAME\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\settings
    3. There should be folders named Business and Personal. Business will have a digit at the end. Delete the BusinessX folder that corresponds to the workplace account you've signed out of/disconnected from your PC (for me this was Business1 and I kept Business2 which is a current workplace MS account)

    Then:

    1. Also go to C:\Users\PROFILENAME\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\ListSync **** and delete the BusinessX account folder there too (again Business1 for me, depends for you...)
    2. Restart computer which will restart OneDrive for both personal and business drives.

    Fingers crossed -- and this has worked for me with two restarts to test.

    I guess it was the ListSync folder that contained the commands that set off the notification?

    I followed the above steps, and today the "Sign in to turn on offline..." message came back again.

    I've also gone through and removed all the "business1" entries from the registry.

    Such a frustrating issue. At least once a week this issue happens, asking me to sign in to a business account for a company I haven't worked at in over 18 months.


    I noticed in the directory C:\Program Files\Microsoft OneDrive that it creates subfolders with names like "23.048.0305.0002". Inside here it seems to download the latest version of OneDrive. It includes "Microsoft.SharePoint.exe" - this is the only place where SharePoint exists in my system.

    I think this issue is entirely on the Microsoft server side. Every time OneDrive updates itself, something on the server side tells it to include the business account, and thus installs SharePoint and runs that at the same time.

    Was this answer helpful?

    6 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2023-03-20T12:54:37+00:00

    This is driving me nuts. I haven't even changed employer, I just got a new account for contractual reasons (I used to be an intern). Yet when I startup Windows 11 since (a week now), I keep getting the prompt to log into my old account for Sharepoint to view my lists, even though I already removed everything from my old account and replaced it with my new one.

    I already tried nuking OneDrive, but it didn't work. I really don't want to do a fresh install of Windows, I just did that a while ago (unrelated to this switching of accounts). Hopefully someone can find the obscure registry item or another solution.

    Was this answer helpful?

    6 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2022-11-23T20:22:00+00:00

    Try -

    Settings > Apps > Startup > Microsoft SharePoint

    Turn the startup switch for Microsoft SharePoint to off.

    This is probably a good workaround, but doesn't address the issue if I want to use this feature for a different account

    Was this answer helpful?

    5 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments