"Delete Shared Item?" Notification pops up every time files are deleted from OneDrive Shortcuts

Anonymous
2024-03-22T18:57:43+00:00

Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.

Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.

Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

61 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2024-04-05T12:49:56+00:00

    We are also experiencing the same problem in all of our computers/users.

    Please fix this issue ASAP. This is not only annoying but also causes problems of replicate files etc.

    We already know what to delete and also know that once a shared file is deleted it gets deleted for everyone!

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-27T19:33:25+00:00

    This did not work for me.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-27T19:12:23+00:00

    I was able to get past this by uninstalling OneDrive and installing the "rolling out" version from here. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/onedrive-release-notes-845dcf18-f921-435e-bf28-4e24b95e5fc0?ui=en-us&rs=en-us&ad=us

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T15:43:15+00:00

    Hello,

    So is this a new feature and not a bug ?

    I'm having the same issue on my company as well and I don't want to have that.

    The users are having issues with this confirmation and causing problems.

    If this is a new feature is there anyway to turn it off ? Would you post step by step where each user or the admin have to turn off this feature ?

    Thank you!

    Best Regards,

    Vinicius

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T15:34:00+00:00

    It looks like this issue was introduced in one of the following versions:

    Version 22.253.1204.0001 (January 9, 2023)

    • We've resolved product issues to improve the reliability and performance of the OneDrive sync app.

    • New features gradually rolling out:

    • Top down deletes. We've changed how OneDrive sync propagates deletes to the backend, allowing the web recycle bin to match the actions of the user. In the past, if a user deleted a folder, all the contents of the folder would show up as individual items in the recycle bin. With this change, users would only see the parent folder in the recycle bin, allowing them to restore everything easily, and quickly.

    Version 22.238.1114.0002 (December 2, 2022)

    • We've resolved product issues to improve the reliability and performance of the OneDrive sync app.

    • New features gradually rolling out: • Updated settings experience. We've updated the Settings experience to make it easier for users to manage OneDrive Sync.

    The one from 2022 definitely removed some Settings that used to address this topic.

    Source: OneDrive release notes - Microsoft Support

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments