Outlook asks to save when closing appointments without any change

Anonymous
2023-01-02T08:14:20+00:00

When I open any appointment in outlook Calendar I have to save it before closing if I have locked my PC in between. Even If I did not change anything (applies to any invite also empty freshly created ones and also applies when outlook is started in safe mode + also applies on different PC / different account)

[![](https://learn-attachment.microsoft.com/api/attachments/20b86f9d-1cc2-4011-8f4d-a64e9f945f58?platform=QnASteps to reproduce:

  1. Open Outlook calendar, and open any appointment
  2. Put laptop to lock mode (windows key + L)
  3. Log in again
  4. Click the 'X' icon to close the appointment
  5. Outlook will pop up an alert box "Want to save your changes? Yes | No | Cancel " and the user has to select something.](https://learn-attachment.microsoft.com/api/attachments/20b86f9d-1cc2-4011-8f4d-a64e9f945f58?platform=QnA&fud_access=wJJIheezUklbAN2ppeDns8cDNpYs3nCYjgitr%2bfFBh2dqlqMuW7np3F6Utp%2fKMltnRRYFtVjOMO5tpbpW9UyRAwvLeec5emAPixgq9ta07Dgnp2aq5eJbnfd%2fU3qhn54gvgJwJvybOaDZLdxxWbmUU55lRVcs%2b2rsZqD5C%2f2ugIy6sqE3bmcGNiEPEvYKI16fklw5WYaFGrnASySzjzYPBMvt%2bVOvAQMf93S5Ko5apovha8xkf2t4FEpnnplUjx6vzNpK1AJ%2bm5J3PVtyfBv2Ngxo%2bKQEU%2b1bEbIrW6CGfvnpbcta1O6MDU7%2b9Ea77rcFd7uju0GTB3L41UvMQuArmQC6FPPSvSN6qLyVexBhQGTMqZUIG5uwLawp5kn016qCxHiiHVoGPOhOPlZjc2pXoVl6o5NdZl4BiPgXi2mF4g%3d "filestore.community.support.microsoft.com")

Disabling the weather information, scaling equal, new profile did not help for me, any idea how to solve this?

NOTE: There is still no solution / fix for this issue

Outlook | Windows | Classic Outlook for Windows | For home

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

86 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2024-07-17T19:31:39+00:00

    Any time an appointment sits open for "x" amount of time (No reply or forward) Outlook wants me to "save changes". I havent noticed a problem with forwarding or replying.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-07-17T18:31:17+00:00

    I found this solution online and it seems to work for me: Disable the social connector COM add-in.

    https://updates.atkinsgroup.com/2021/05/28/outlook-prompts-to-save-original-e-mail-after-forward-or-reply/

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2023-08-08T08:43:45+00:00

    Thanks SeanValli, I tried the same or similar - saving an appointment using "Save As". Then do the lock/unlock cycle, and again "Save As". The resulting second file is different but from what I can tell it will always be different because it saves creation/modification timestamps inside the calender item.

    For example when saving as .ics format, the file is plain text and the ics fields CREATED, DTSTAMP, and LAST-MODIFIED differ. But this is a result of saving the file at a different time and is to be expected.

    When saving as binary .msg format I suspect that such fields are also included in a binary encoding so it becomes difficult to see what is really changed.

    So it's clear that the lock/unlock cycle changes the open appointment in some way, but we can't see yet what is really changed or why.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2023-04-12T14:25:18+00:00

    They don't fix it because it is not really a bug - it's an unfortunate consequence of the situation. If you get asked to save, it's because some piece of data on the appointment was updated. Which piece? Who knows. The list of things that could theoretically change in the data around and about the appointment is huge, especially with add-ons that bring their own raft of stuff. Nobody could know or agree on which things that might change (weather, time, logon status, etc., etc. ) are the ones you or I would consider important or not, so anything that changes just tags the appointment as 'updated' and the close routine asks to save. I suppose there could be a huge selection panel of things that we can select as being important or not, but it would be really big, and would have to be accessible for add-ons too.
    Yes, they could play whack-a-mole and start ignoring very minor things as people complain...but that could turn into actual bugs when the very minor thing actually breaks something for someone.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2023-01-06T10:45:26+00:00

    Dear Fnurk, Have a good day!Thank you for your reply and clarification.Please allow me to explain something about this. I did it twice by following the steps in your post.The first time,
    I open Outlook along with a blank new appointment without making any changes, then press and hold windows key + L, put laptop into lock screen mode, reopen, close blank appointment without any changes, yes, here a prompt box pops up asking me if to save the changes. I successfully reproduced your question. The result is same.
    The second time,I closed Outlook, returned to the original state, startedmy second test. I opened outlook and selected someone else's calendar (a calendar created by a colleague), I don't have permission, here a prompt box will appear, "You don't have permission, do you want to ask XXX to share his or her Calendar with you?" Click yes, I open his calendar pop-up, make no changes (and no permission to change), then press and hold Windows Key + L, put the laptop into lock screen mode, reopen, close this calendar, but no prompt box appears here.In both test steps, the only difference is that when you open a new calendar or your own calendar (with permission to change), the cursor flashes on the detailed calendar information page. When I open a colleague's calendar (which I do not have permission to modify), the cursor does not appear on the page, which is similar to the read-only mode of mail, the system defaults to which I do not have permission to change, and when I lock the computer, log in again, close it, he does not appear any prompt.So, after comparison, guess that when there is a cursor, the system defaults you in edit mode, and in order to prevent you from losing the created operation due to the lock screen, you will be reminded to save your changes. For calendars that you don't have permission to change,  locking your computer won't trigger any prompts.Here are some of the differences I've observed. Thank you for your patience and understanding, and if you have any ideas, welcome to update via this post.

    all the best,Regards,winter

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments