Microsoft Says Someone Changed My Profile Information

Anonymous
2014-03-09T09:44:08+00:00

I just received the following email (I have asterisked-out my email address):

From: Microsoft account team (*****@account.microsoft.com)*

Sent: Sun 3/09/14 4:45 AM

To: ****@hotmail.com

Microsoft account

Your profile info changed

Profile info such as your name, birth date, or country/region was changed on the Microsoft account ****@hotmail.com.

If this was you, then you can safely ignore this email.

If this wasn't you, a malicious user has your password. Please review your recent activity and we'll help you take corrective action.

Review recent activity

To opt out or change where you receive security notifications, click here.

Thanks,

The Microsoft account team

Is this a legit email? from Microsoft or Phishing?

Outlook | Web | Outlook.com | Account management, security, and privacy

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

46 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2014-04-12T06:58:46+00:00

    i dont know why but i tried to change my phone info and outlook.com made me run in circle since yesterday  e.e.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2014-04-12T06:40:11+00:00

    X-Notifier is -not- malware, in my opinion... it's used by hundreds of thousands on Firefox, Thunderbird, Sea Monkey and Chrome, Opera, Safari.  Question is... is someone spoofing those messages. Beware of any links contained in messages claiming something's changed.... like 'Review recent activity' or 'click here' ...just to be careful. Open your browser and go to Microsoft's hotmail.com/outlook.com/live.com to check your email settings.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2014-04-09T13:45:31+00:00

    i use chrome right now. i have used the other things but in the distant past. i currently have a windows phone. it uses the same blu thing.

    i already vberified to my satisfaction that this is microsoft. id go into it more but im still mopping up the extensive mess made by hackers. part of that, for me, is simply checking out ever single thing i dont recognize.

    thanks!

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2014-04-09T13:42:11+00:00

    cool. thanks!

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Brian Tillman [Outlook MVP 2007-2019] 25,925 Reputation points
    2014-04-09T13:06:43+00:00

    Removed PII is, indeed, a Microsoft address so the change isn't from some foreign country hacker.

    If I received this, I'd log in, verify the information that purportedly changed, and make sure I strengthened the security of my account.

    It is unlikely someone "official" will respond in these forums.  They're peer-to-peer (users helping users).

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments