While shut down or restart getting message that "someone is still using" my pc

Anonymous
2017-10-29T06:54:41+00:00

I am getting this problem after the fall creators update .It's happening sometimes when I click shut down or restart a message pops up, it says someone else is using my pc, I do have another user in my pc but that user is not in use when I am getting that massage. I also clean installed my OS but the problem is still there. The Microsoft support staff also failed to sort out the problem. I am adding a photo of the message.

Its very unfortunate that after so many cumulative updates and even one major update version 1803 MS still did not fixed this issue, as if they are unaware of this.

Moved from: Windows / Windows 10 / Performance & system failures

Windows for home | Windows 10 | Sleep and Power on, off

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2017-12-05T22:33:15+00:00

I used this and it fixed the issue:

Open the Settings app and go to Accounts > Sign-in Options. Scroll to the bottom until you reach the Privacy section and UNSELECT the option to "Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart." Do this for EVERY account on your PC.

Hopefully it helps you as well. 


Moderator's note: Information updated for this reply to help users facing this issue.


Was this answer helpful?

30+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

41 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2018-04-12T12:53:33+00:00

    Does Microsoft realize people have jobs and families?  How much time does Windows require troubleshooting random messages that seem to suggest our Windows PC has been taken over by hackers?  Is it ~40 hrs/week trying all these steps for this problem, and then all the others too?

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2018-03-13T17:46:45+00:00

    I used this and it fixed the issue:

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows\_10-security/users-not-signed-out-on-shutdown-or-restart-fall/b23903e4-bbef-4e99-b38b-ea6d7c742a9e

    Hopefully it helps you as well. 

    After all the mucking around with previous 'fixes' this is the simplest and the only one that worked well done and thank you junker2017.

    Why arent Microsoft as helpful and clever as this answer?

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2017-12-05T23:46:43+00:00

    I am no longer seeing message after turning that option off for all accounts. Like that better than resetting the OS.

    Thanks, that was helpful!

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2017-11-04T15:32:16+00:00

    To add to my previous post: still on Windows 10 Pro, version 1709, build 16299.19.

    I created two new local accounts, TestAdmin and TestUser, made the first a member of the Administrators group only, and the second a member of the Users group only. The previous local accounts I was using existed before the upgrade to the Fall Creators update (and survived it :) . These two new accounts were created after the update and were only used for these tests, so they had little or no chance to become corrupted.

    I then did a number of tests. This showed that it makes no difference whether the accounts are new, or existed previous to the Fall update. It makes no difference whether the local accounts are local admins or just ordinary users. And it makes no difference whether you do a shutdown, or a restart. The results were always the same. There was no account switching whilst signed in. Each time the machine was switched on, exactly one local account signed in, looked around, and then did a shutdown and switch off.

    In every case, if account A does a shut down, and then the machine is switched back on again, account A's signon screen is presented - as expected. If account B then signs in, where B is not A, Task Manager/Users shows account B signed in as expected, but also account A is there too, but disconnected. That has to be wrong, surely? Account A uses quite a bit of cpu (80% - 90%) for about half a minute, too, so it's doing something (?) but then that tails off to nothing. But A just sits there, disconnected.

    If account B is a local admin, and in Task Manager/Users, B does a rightclick on the disconnected account A and signs it out, then the "someone else ..." message doesn't occur at shutdown. Of course, ordinary users can't do that.

    Hope this helps.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments