Folders Shared with me are syncing as internet shortcut in OneDrive on Windows PC

Anonymous
2024-06-08T04:53:55+00:00

Hi. I had some folders shared from different users in my OneDrive account. I had added the folders to my OneDrive with Add Shortcut to OneDrive button from Shared folders in cloud. The account is logged into a windows pc and every files including the folders shared with my were syncing fine until yesterday. Yesterday night the shared folders were completely removed from the Windows pc and folders are replaced with internet shortcut. This is such a big mess. I have tried unlinking the account and linking it back, changing the location of OneDrive on my windows pc and tried to get a new folder shared to my account and adding it to OneDrive. Nothing works so far. OneDrive has a big part in my daily activities. Please help me resolve this.

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2025-03-13T06:07:22+00:00

Here is the statement from the Microsoft OneDrive product group (Redmond USA) about the OneDrive Personal problem:

***This is related to a backend migration we are doing and unfortunately, we don’t fully support syncing shared folders in the case where one user has migrated and the other has not. We’re doing everything possible to accelerate things so that it can be resolved as soon as possible for users of the feature. When the accounts are migrated, there is automated logic that makes them go back to a syncing folder within several days.***I have heard, that shared Folder issue is gone.
The best thing is: WAIT and do nothing

Was this answer helpful?

200+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

3,079 additional answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2025-03-07T08:32:43+00:00

    Hi everyone

    I have a question, if "new" accounts are that ones with "NO SEARCH OPTION", and "old" accounts are that ones with "SEARCH OPTIONS", why when you create a new account they have "SEARCH OPTION"?

    We have the problem that all our information is in one "old" account (search ON), and many other have been update to the new version (search OFF). We are creating new accounts and they have SEARCH ON, but then, are created with old version?

    It has no sense..

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2025-03-07T07:42:41+00:00

    Has this been fixed yet? Can you please get your developers to fix this? Its been 8 months now. Please fix the issue, i cant access files on my pc anymore and need to do all adminstration of files that are in the shared folder of me and my wife via the web ui now, which sucks.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2025-03-07T01:08:31+00:00

    macOS 15.3.1 desktop OneDrive, shared folder became a url suddenly and it did not help to reset OneDrive nor to end sharing and create a new link in the web interface. Very troubling since I am continually working with the materials in various shared folders. If it persists will need to look for an alternate cloud solution.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2025-03-06T23:34:03+00:00

    They should have placed the sharing functionality and maybe a space allocation manager for the entire family with a 10 TB total storage space as differentials for the "new tier" they upgraded everybody by default, instead of CoPilot (which is not even full, there's a limit on how many "credits" you have).

    I'd have been fine with the new price if I could allocate most of the 6 TB to a single account.

    They should also support REFS again (they dropped it) and junctions/symbolic links. I was forced to buy a larger drive because they suddenly decided to intentionally make their application incompatible with symbolic links, so I could not have the most used files on a small SSD and the rest on a slower HDD.

    There were surely several thousands of users affected by those things. Most people just do what you said, they leave. I think MS might want us to leave and only keep the customers that don't use their services, after all. They'd increase their profit margin massively and that's what enshitification is all about. No more scanner for you if you don't buy original ink at least once every two months because they also make your printer run a cleaning cycle every couple of days, even if you keep your printer on all the time to avoid a "boot cycle". 🤪

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments