Folders Shared with me are syncing as internet shortcut in OneDrive on Windows PC

Anonymous
2024-06-08T04:53:55+00:00

Hi. I had some folders shared from different users in my OneDrive account. I had added the folders to my OneDrive with Add Shortcut to OneDrive button from Shared folders in cloud. The account is logged into a windows pc and every files including the folders shared with my were syncing fine until yesterday. Yesterday night the shared folders were completely removed from the Windows pc and folders are replaced with internet shortcut. This is such a big mess. I have tried unlinking the account and linking it back, changing the location of OneDrive on my windows pc and tried to get a new folder shared to my account and adding it to OneDrive. Nothing works so far. OneDrive has a big part in my daily activities. Please help me resolve this.

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2025-03-13T06:07:22+00:00

Here is the statement from the Microsoft OneDrive product group (Redmond USA) about the OneDrive Personal problem:

***This is related to a backend migration we are doing and unfortunately, we don’t fully support syncing shared folders in the case where one user has migrated and the other has not. We’re doing everything possible to accelerate things so that it can be resolved as soon as possible for users of the feature. When the accounts are migrated, there is automated logic that makes them go back to a syncing folder within several days.***I have heard, that shared Folder issue is gone.
The best thing is: WAIT and do nothing

Was this answer helpful?

200+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

3,079 additional answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2025-03-23T15:16:42+00:00

    Try to create a new account and see if it goes to V2.

    If not, avoid using it for a couple of days, open again, see if it migrated (I think I heard something that empty accounts that were new were sometimes quickly migrated, not sure, but worth trying).

    If files are at the new account, you can copy everything over to the new onedrive and use it instead.

    That's what I can see as the best solution if you want to use the great feature again. 😏

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2025-03-23T08:15:39+00:00

    Migration definitely happens, but it appears to be random. New account was created as V1.0, but after a few days it got changed to V2.0.

    Is there any way to speed it up? My main account is stuck on old V1 and it is big issue for me, since plenty of files are shared through my account?

    It is really unacceptable for paid service...

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2025-03-22T20:52:05+00:00

    Wow! This is very useful, because the fact we see V2 instead of V1 means those accounts should, in theory, not be migrated, unless they come up with V3...

    It’s safe to assume that will never happen, because the new backend is the same SharePoint as all enterprise accounts. You know, those accounts that cost 10 times as much, allow on-site deployment… and also require Microsoft to provide genuine support and resolve issues in hours, not years…

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2025-03-22T20:24:33+00:00

    Wow! This is very useful, because the fact we see V2 instead of V1 means those accounts should, in theory, not be migrated, unless they come up with V3...

    I only have one account (the main one, of course, which is the one that pays and was using shares from the others), on V1.

    I guess I should copy all data to another OneDrive that's not full, even if it takes me another week, and ignore the "main one" for the time being. Anybody else here doing the same?

    The new account I created is on V2 as well, by the way, in case anybody wonders. I thought there were conversations around new accounts being created on the old server. Or maybe it migrated since then, and I didn't see it because I didn't use it. 🤔

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments