Folders Shared with me are syncing as internet shortcut in OneDrive on Windows PC

Anonymous
2024-06-08T04:53:55+00:00

Hi. I had some folders shared from different users in my OneDrive account. I had added the folders to my OneDrive with Add Shortcut to OneDrive button from Shared folders in cloud. The account is logged into a windows pc and every files including the folders shared with my were syncing fine until yesterday. Yesterday night the shared folders were completely removed from the Windows pc and folders are replaced with internet shortcut. This is such a big mess. I have tried unlinking the account and linking it back, changing the location of OneDrive on my windows pc and tried to get a new folder shared to my account and adding it to OneDrive. Nothing works so far. OneDrive has a big part in my daily activities. Please help me resolve this.

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2025-03-13T06:07:22+00:00

Here is the statement from the Microsoft OneDrive product group (Redmond USA) about the OneDrive Personal problem:

***This is related to a backend migration we are doing and unfortunately, we don’t fully support syncing shared folders in the case where one user has migrated and the other has not. We’re doing everything possible to accelerate things so that it can be resolved as soon as possible for users of the feature. When the accounts are migrated, there is automated logic that makes them go back to a syncing folder within several days.***I have heard, that shared Folder issue is gone.
The best thing is: WAIT and do nothing

Was this answer helpful?

200+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

3,079 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2025-06-08T21:43:50+00:00

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Yesterday I got an email saying my files were gone on the last shared account, so my personal media are gone.

    I've checked and my main account is still on V1 and all the others are finally on V2.

    I just hope they migrate my main account soon.

    And that last shared account was very big, like 900GB of files.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Deleted

    This answer has been deleted due to a violation of our Code of Conduct. The answer was manually reported or identified through automated detection before action was taken. Please refer to our Code of Conduct for more information.


    Comments have been turned off. Learn more

  3. Anonymous
    2025-06-06T22:53:31+00:00

    Thanks

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2025-06-05T17:28:45+00:00

    Same situation here... The account that holds all the shared files is the only one that has not migrated yet.... It seems done on purpose.

    I suspect (this is a personal guess not an oficial answer) that the algorithm that microsoft are using to chose which accounts to migrate is picking those with the least quanity of files first.

    From those waiting for the main account to get migrated and therefore lots of files/GBs, you could assume they are avoiding those, but that does not apply to me. I moved all my files to a new account, the old/original account has now almost nothing in it and it still has not been migrated.

    As I said this is my best guess (as a developer), did you empty the recycle bin as well?

    My V1.0 OneDrive (still active, but not used anymore), has 41 files totaling 9.6MB and the recyc bin was cleaned out weeks ago. So if you are correct, it would only make sense if they made their migration list/plan from the status that was in play in May 2024 (or whenever they created this mess). Which suggests there is nothing we can do to manipulate the migration.

    If I was in charge of the planning in this migration, I wouldn't start with the smallest first, I would start with the biggest first and then migrate all the small ones that the big one is sharing to. This way the delta between all the shares on a group would be the smallest. i.e. hours/days of disruption instead of months.

    If you started with the smallest first, then everyone needs to wait for the biggest to start and complete before it returns to normal and that is exactly what appears to be happening here, Most people posting here say "I'm the main user, when will I get migrated", which implies the people they share to are smaller and have been migrated.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments