A Microsoft file hosting and synchronization service.
That's the problem. They changed it so that AutoSave creates the new file. That's how it's "supposed" to work now, and they think it's helpful. I've yet to find one person who likes this new change.
I'd suggest don't even use AutoSave anymore. Just manually save the file each time you've make changes. If you have your Desktop synced to your OneDrive, the file in OneDrive will sync too.
Do you know where they documented this is how it is supposed to work now? Given that when I open the file in one way, AutoSave is off, and when I open it a different way, AutoSave works, I'd like to know which one is the bug based on the current documentation.