Remove "Sign in to turn on offline access to your lists" OneDrive notification after removing work account that is no longer used

Anonymous
2022-10-23T14:14:08+00:00

I have recently removed a work account from my Windows 11 installation in my desktop and laptop. While the process has been smooth, there is however a leftover notification that appears during Windows start-up on both devices:

From OneDrive: "Sign in to turn on offline access to your lists"

When clicking on it, it attempts to log into the work account that I have already removed! Unfortunately I am unable to disable this notification from appearing every time I start the PC or laptop. I even attempted to unlink all accounts from OneDrive, and cleared all credentials in the hope that this notification no longer appears; however, after linking back my personal account, it still appears on Windows start-up.

How can I make sure that this notification no longer appears? Are there any places where the work account email is still cached? Can those entries be removed so that this is solved?

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | Other | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2023-06-12T11:03:10+00:00

Remove on HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run the key Microsoft.Lists that points towards C:\Program Files\Microsoft OneDrive\23.071.0402.0001\Microsoft.SharePoint.exe

Image

It's only been a couple of start ups, but this gets my vote as the simple solution, nothing else needed. I knew someone would come up with it, brilliant, thank you for fixing this annoying problem.

Was this answer helpful?

30+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

51 additional answers

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Anonymous
    2023-03-30T07:55:30+00:00

    +1 for me too - I have moved companies and removed (or so I thought) all trace of my previous work account from my file storage and registry, but the message still appears. I wonder if this will change when my account with my old employer is fully deleted in 90 days (or whenever that happens at MS' end).

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2023-03-31T11:15:28+00:00

    So I opened a support case. Support suggested to deactivate the feature. I deemed this unacceptable, so the poor support subcontractor from Shanghai wanted me to collect network tracing logs. I stopped there and decided to actually deactivate the feature.

    They do not officially admit it, but it is a bug in the SharePoint Lists Sync Engine (Nucleus). But the Product Group considers it a "cosmetic" issue.

    To put this into context: they have 3884 issues in status "OPEN" over at the SharePoint Feedback Portal. The Top issue has over 500 upvotes and over 100 comments.

    SharePoint · Community (microsoft.com)

    This might never get fixed.

    If you want to get it fixed, go ahead, open your own support case and continue where I left off.

    BUT. Do you really need SharePoint Lists sync/offline usage? I figured List offline usage is not working in my environment and I am almost NEVER offline anyways, so I might just as well get rid of it.

    You can read all about lists troubleshooting here:

    Common issues syncing SharePoint lists offline - SharePoint | Microsoft Learn

    but you basically just need to execute this:

    • CMD.exe>Run as Administrator>
    • REG ADD HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\OneDrive /v DisableNucleusSync /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

    • Reboot.

    Prompt "Sign in to turn on offline access to your lists" should no longer appear.

    It worked for me.

    Have a successful day.

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2023-03-31T11:32:42+00:00

    O, it would be great if that is the fix, thanks Remo G!

    What I find odd about the whole thing is that I have never consciously used any version of Sharepoint on this device, only OneDrive. I know OneDrive business is basically nothing but a frontend for Sharepoint, but AFAIK, I haven't ever signed in to my old work account with OneDrive either, or accessed work Sharepoint from here.

    Does this issue mean that OneDrive personal is really also Sharepoint in the background? Or did signing in to my work account on this device somehow enable Sharepoint features that I've never used or even seen on this device? (Though I've probably accessed Teams content at some point that resided in Sharepoint, so I guess I did access business Sharepoint occasionally.)

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2023-03-31T12:47:49+00:00

    Worked for me! Thanks!

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments