Remove "Sign in to turn on offline access to your lists" OneDrive notification after removing work account that is no longer used

Anonymous
2022-10-23T14:14:08+00:00

I have recently removed a work account from my Windows 11 installation in my desktop and laptop. While the process has been smooth, there is however a leftover notification that appears during Windows start-up on both devices:

From OneDrive: "Sign in to turn on offline access to your lists"

When clicking on it, it attempts to log into the work account that I have already removed! Unfortunately I am unable to disable this notification from appearing every time I start the PC or laptop. I even attempted to unlink all accounts from OneDrive, and cleared all credentials in the hope that this notification no longer appears; however, after linking back my personal account, it still appears on Windows start-up.

How can I make sure that this notification no longer appears? Are there any places where the work account email is still cached? Can those entries be removed so that this is solved?

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | Other | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2023-06-12T11:03:10+00:00

Remove on HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run the key Microsoft.Lists that points towards C:\Program Files\Microsoft OneDrive\23.071.0402.0001\Microsoft.SharePoint.exe

Image

It's only been a couple of start ups, but this gets my vote as the simple solution, nothing else needed. I knew someone would come up with it, brilliant, thank you for fixing this annoying problem.

Was this answer helpful?

30+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

51 additional answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Deleted

    This answer has been deleted due to a violation of our Code of Conduct. The answer was manually reported or identified through automated detection before action was taken. Please refer to our Code of Conduct for more information.


    Comments have been turned off. Learn more

  2. Anonymous
    2023-06-07T00:00:23+00:00

    These steps did it for me. I was curious about why, so I dug a bit deeper before the Big Delete. the files in ListSync are SQLite files storing SharePoint list configuration. I looked inside them using a SQLite browser and, indeed, found my old no longer valid work email address in a settings table. It might be that just deleting the SQLite files in ListSync is enough, but deleting them all is probably cleaner and then just signing in again to your current work accounts, if you have any.

    I'm just so glad that stupid alert is gone.

    Thanks for all the tips so far. I may have found the solution. As Arnie said:

    1. Close all running OneDrive and Sharepoint processes. I did this from TaskManager because although I can see OneDrive and quit it from toolbar, I can only quit SharePoint in TM
    2. Go to C:\Users\PROFILENAME\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\settings
    3. There should be folders named Business and Personal. Business will have a digit at the end. Delete the BusinessX folder that corresponds to the workplace account you've signed out of/disconnected from your PC (for me this was Business1 and I kept Business2 which is a current workplace MS account)

    Then:

    1. Also go to C:\Users\PROFILENAME\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\ListSync **** and delete the BusinessX account folder there too (again Business1 for me, depends for you...)
    2. Restart computer which will restart OneDrive for both personal and business drives.

    Fingers crossed -- and this has worked for me with two restarts to test.

    I guess it was the ListSync folder that contained the commands that set off the notification?

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2023-05-08T22:17:42+00:00

    I tried twice to stop the Skype sign in notification following the instructions in

    Hrunting  post pf April 14, 2023. The Skype message still came back. Then I remembered that I have OneDrive personal on my iPhone. I went to do a refresh of that. I noticed that there was one Word file marked as offline. There is a later version of this file in my OneDrive personal documents.. I am not sure how the offline version got there. One thing that is unique about this Word file is that it is password protected. I deleted the offline version of the file. I have stopped getting the Skype sign in message. I am not sure if this really is a solution but I thought I would share my experience.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2023-05-06T10:31:14+00:00

    Thanks for the research. That solved it for me

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments