Excel - How to convert US dates and times to UK dates and times

Anonymous
2021-05-14T17:03:30+00:00

Hello

I wonder if I could receive help with the following:

I have a long Excel spreadsheet where the dates and times are in US format and need to be changed to UK format. The problem is that the date and time need to be merged into one cell.

BEFORE HOW IT SHOULD LOOK
06/03/2021 06:PM 23/06/2021 18:00

Sometimes the data is laid out as below:

DATE TIME HOW IT SHOULD LOOK
06/03/21 06:PM 23/06/2021 18:00

Thanks for your help.

Microsoft 365 and Office | Excel | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
HansV 462.7K Reputation points MVP Volunteer Moderator
2021-05-14T21:28:56+00:00

That means that the values aren't real dates, but text values that look like dates.

  1. For a range with separate dates in a column:
  • Select the range.
  • On the Data tab of the ribbon, click Text to Columns
  • Click Next> twice.
  • In step 3 of the Text to Columns Wizard, select Date, and select MDY from the drop down.
  • Click OK.
  1. For a range with separate times in a column:
  • Select an empty cell and copy it.
  • Select the range with times.
  • Click the lower half of the Paste button and select Paste Special...
  • Select Add, then click OK.
  1. For a range with dates+times in a column:
  • Select the range.
  • Run the macro listed below.
  • You can discard the macro afterwards.

Sub Text2Date()
    Dim rng As Range
    Dim s As String
    Dim p As Long
    Dim d As String
    Dim t As String
    Dim a() As String
    Application.ScreenUpdating = False
    For Each rng In Selection
        s = rng.Text
        p = InStr(s, " ")
        d = Left(s, p - 1)
        a = Split(d, "/")
        t = Trim(Mid(s, p + 1))
        rng.Value = DateSerial(a(2), a(0), a(1)) + TimeValue(t)
    Next rng
    Selection.NumberFormat = "dd/mm/yyyy hh:nn"
    Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

Was this answer helpful?

30+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
HansV 462.7K Reputation points MVP Volunteer Moderator
2021-05-16T08:48:31+00:00

I don't use PowerQuery much, so if the following is off, I hope that others will take me to task - criticism is welcome!

Try this:

Click in the column with dates-as-text.

On the Insert tab of the Ribbon, click Table.

Make sure that 'My table has headers' is ticked, then click OK.

On the Data tab of the ribbon, in the Get & Transform group, click 'From Table/Range'.

PowerQuery will automatically recognize the values as date/time and display them in your system date/time format (mine is yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm:ss)

Click Close & Load.

The result is a new table with 'real' date/time values:

You can now apply the desired format:

Was this answer helpful?

10+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

45 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2021-05-17T14:35:17+00:00

    You should read the very first message in this forum (not this thread, but the message that is pinned to the beginning of the forum).

    The problem has to do with errors in the way this forum processes code.  That message was posted in February. Obviously it hasn't been completely fixed yet.

    In particular:

    • If you copy a VBA code into your editor it might not work and shows red lines which means syntax errors.The issue are automatically inserted blank lines, you must remove them to make the VBA code work.

    Note that the line before is a "continuation line" and the line itself appears in RED.  Merely remove the blank lines between the RED line and the previous line.

    Be sure to also remove the blank lines before other lines that appear in RED.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2021-05-17T12:24:45+00:00

    Hi Ron.

    Thanks for your response. It is exactly what is needed. I've noticed in your results that the Macro even takes care of empty rows.

    I've tried it on my laptop and came up this error message. See attached.

    Error Message

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2021-05-17T06:51:47+00:00

    Thank you!

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments