This is an update to my previous post. Again, I began experiencing this since my O365 subscription renewed.
On my desktop, in addition to the yellow banner and since I first posted, on a single occasion I got a full-blown browser presentation from MS, explaining the details of what's happening. Not clearly why, but what. I'll explain what I believe the "why"
is.
Once I went into Files>Office Account>Privacy, and unchecked the boxes that were giving my extended data away, I've continued to get the yellow banner. However, my privacy settings don't get changed from what I set them to, after I restart Office (which
will happen one way or another).
I now just close the yellow banner notice with the X button and go on with my business, because as soon as Office is closed in any manner, the next time it's opened, it will have done whatever it does when it says "Restart Required".
Even though I have all my privacy boxes unchecked, if I had left one checked, such as "Online experiences" (for an example, that's what is required for any extended dictionary look-ups), any new changes MS has made to "Online experiences" functionality,
would not take effect until the Office app is restarted.
Why? Because rather than MS sending a notice of privacy changes to be reviewed and agreed to on some sort of weekly or monthly schedule, they are having us agree to those changes before they are applied by restarting Office (any of Outlook, Excel, Word,
etc.) This is the result of MS applications running as a "service."
If you weren't giving any data away to begin with (according to your Office privacy settings), then you don't really agree to anything when Office restarts. Regardless, that doesn't keep it from feeling intrusive.
Caveat: I suspect that under some circumstances, such as subscription renewal, or a slip of the "whatever," MS might change our Office Privacy Settings. As such, it wouldn't hurt to check them every so often.