Keep Getting "Outlook closed while you had items open. Reopen items from last session?" Even Though It's Not True

Anonymous
2023-07-05T13:34:20+00:00

This just started happening. Whenever I open Outlook, I get the message "Outlook closed while you had items open. Reopen items from last session?" even though this is not true -- I did not have items open when I closed Outlook. Using Windows 11. Screenshot of what version of Outlook I have:

Outlook | Windows | Classic Outlook for Windows | For business

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2023-07-07T17:46:51+00:00

I'm on build 2306. Is this the reg key in question?

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Outlook\Preferences
DWORD: ReopenWindowsOption
Value: 1

Yes.

Some users that updated to 2306 have reported that the key was not already in the Registry and had to add it and the value.

Was this answer helpful?

40+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

178 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2023-08-27T15:20:30+00:00

    This was a fix I found online.

    This website gave me three options to try.

    The first was to edit the registry which only worked temporarily for me.

    https://droidwin.com/how-to-disable-outlook-closed-while-you-had-items-open-prompt/#:~:text=FIX%201%3A%20Using%20Registry%20Editor%201%20Bring%20up,%E2%80%98Outlook%20closed%20while%20you%20had%20items%20open%E2%80%99%20prompt.

    This was fix number two - again suggested and it worked for now. All it does is roll back to the previous version of outlook, before the bug was released in the newest update.

    https://droidwin.com/how-to-downgrade-ms-outlook-application/
    Still
     NOT a permanent fix but until MS fixes the current bug, I'm unable to update to the "current" MS office updates.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2023-08-26T18:40:36+00:00

    Agreed, I tried looking for a solution from MS online.

    Tried all the recommendations, but the problem still keep reoccurring.

    Can MS advise, when this will be corrected.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2023-08-22T18:39:15+00:00

    I just upgraded to Microsoft 365 and still have the save settings to the cloud disabled, I noticed that the Start up options is once again there on the Outlook Options section, shown below.

    I can also say I am still not having this issue with a clean install of Outlook, I am currently running the following version:
    Microsoft® Outlook® for Microsoft 365 MSO (Version 2308 Build 16.0.16731.20052) 64-bit

    I am not to sure why this version of Outlook has the Start up options section with info in it.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2023-08-22T17:50:46+00:00

    Hopefully this will be my last post on this topic because most of what can be said has already been said by all users who have posted.

    We have another laptop that is identical to mine, same hardware, same software, all to the same update versions, and that other laptop has never gotten the infamous popup when going into Outlook - never. I don't get that popup anymore since i did the ' /restore' revision to my icon but continue to get erratic results when I click on the Outlook icon (sometimes it opens up in a window, most times it stays minimized on the toolbar and I have to click on it again to open in a window). I'm fine with this minor quirk; of course I'd like it fixed but I can live with it. But why one computer and not the other is something of a conundrum. There has to be something else deeper down in the coding where because I chose one personalization setting or something else that is different from the other laptop, they behave slightly differently even though I set both up initially.

    The lingering question in the back of my mind is when the inevitable MS fix comes through, will it automatically change that ' /restore' back to the stock or will that ' /restore' cause some further snafu and have to be manually changed back, and how am I going to know that?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments