Windows 11 upgrade keeps failing - error: 0xC1900101-0x4000D SECOND_BOOT

Anonymous
2023-01-30T18:21:41+00:00

Please help.

My Windows 11 installation keeps failing whatever I try.

The error message that I get after many hours is

"0xC1900101 - 0x4000D

The installation failed in the SECOND_BOOT phase with an error during MIGRATE_DATA operation."

How do I resolve it, please ?

I'm losing patience as I really want Windows 11 on my HP PC.

Windows for home | Windows 11 | Install and upgrade

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2023-02-06T15:52:20+00:00

I am not an expert on setting up Domains, so I need to ask. Three of your user profiles seem to be on a Domain, while two are not. The log stops after the Carolyn situation but perhaps it just doesn't get to the other two. If you can remove that user from the Domain, maybe it would make a difference, not sure.

I also don't mess with User profiles, but I believe there is a process for creating a new user profile and transferring all the information over to the new user profile and deleting the old one. You might look over the link, and if nothing else, perhaps it would show what you need to duplicate to keep it safe. I have never done this process.

Fix a corrupted user profile in Windows - Microsoft Support

Was this answer helpful?

1 person found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Ramesh 182K Reputation points Volunteer Moderator
2023-02-06T14:36:23+00:00

The exception error C0000005 occurred at the same place. Setup still tries to load the hive of the Carolyn account. Maybe a reboot was required after deleting the keys.

Please try one of the following steps:

Option 1:

Rename the registry hives of each user by running these commands from admin Command Prompt. Make sure these accounts are logged off.

Run:

attrib -s -h -r  C:\Users\Carolyn.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\NTUSER.DAT

attrib -s -h -r  C:\Users\Carolyn.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat

ren C:\Users\Carolyn.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\NTUSER.DAT NTUSER.DAT.OLD
ren C:\Users\Carolyn.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat   UsrClass.dat.old

attrib -s -h -r  C:\Users\Roberty.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\NTUSER.DAT

attrib -s -h -r  C:\Users\Roberty.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat

ren C:\Users\Roberty.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\NTUSER.DAT NTUSER.DAT.OLD

ren C:\Users\Roberty.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat   UsrClass.dat.old

attrib -s -h -r  C:\Users\Peter.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\NTUSER.DAT

attrib -s -h -r  C:\Users\Peter.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat

ren C:\Users\Peter.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\NTUSER.DAT NTUSER.DAT.OLD

ren C:\Users\Peter.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat   UsrClass.dat.old

attrib -s -h -r  C:\Users\Woofs\NTUSER.DAT

attrib -s -h -r  C:\Users\Woofs\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat

ren C:\Users\Woofs\NTUSER.DAT NTUSER.DAT.OLD

ren C:\Users\Woofs\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat   UsrClass.dat.old

Option 2:

Move these profile folders to a different drive.

  • C:\Users\Carolyn.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C
  • C:\Users\Roberty.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C
  • C:\Users\Peter.DESKTOP-S9CJN1C
  • C:\Users\Woofs

Restart Windows and re-run the setup. Let's know how it goes.

Was this answer helpful?

1 person found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

41 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Ramesh 182K Reputation points Volunteer Moderator
    2023-02-06T13:46:45+00:00

    Hi Gary,

    The per-user settings (such as the Start menu. taskbar pins, UI customizations, folder views, etc.) and per-user store app installations on those profiles will be gone. The per-user registry files NTUSER.DAT USRCLASS.DAT store most user profile settings but only for classic desktop apps; each store app maintains a separate registry hive.

    The files should be available under C:\Windows.old\Users<Username> after the upgrade. But* it's a good practice to backup them beforehand.

    Per-machine apps and settings will still be migrated.

    If it still worries you, first download Macrium Reflect Free, create a system image backup of your OS partition, and store the image on an external drive.

    Image

    And then, nuke the "S-1-5-21-2709122778-1458295913-2282752393-1002" key (or all 4 SIDs mentioned earlier) and re-run the Windows setup.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2023-02-06T09:51:00+00:00

    Ramesh

    Before I delete the keys & profiles can they not be "backed up" somewhere & then restored later ?

    I'm not too sure what I lose by deleting these profiles & am quite worried about losing something vital.

    Thanks, Gary

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Ramesh 182K Reputation points Volunteer Moderator
    2023-02-06T06:32:21+00:00

    The Acronis software-related handle leaks are gone. The latest log shows that the exception occurs only when migrating the Carolyn profile -- S-1-5-21-2709122778-1458295913-2282752393-1002.

    I think your best option is to migrate only the "Gary" profile. After the upgrade, the rest of the users can create new profiles.

    To migrate only the Gary profile, go to the following registry key:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList]

    Export the key to a REG file.

    IMPORTANT: The following accounts won't be able to login after deleting the keys.

    Delete these keys:

    S-1-5-21-2709122778-1458295913-2282752393-1002 ← Carolyn

    S-1-5-21-2709122778-1458295913-2282752393-1003 ← Roberty

    S-1-5-21-2709122778-1458295913-2282752393-1004 ← Peter

    S-1-5-21-2709122778-1458295913-2282752393-1005 ← Woofs

    The log indicates the problem is only with the "S-1-5-21-2709122778-1458295913-2282752393-1002" profile, so technically, deleting that key alone should be sufficient. But to save you further reinstall attempts, I suggest deleting all four keys so they won't be migrated.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments