I find it hard to agree. They force you to log in Windows with your online account, then propose you to sync all your files - including Desktop - on OneDrive. Collecting the data and i am actually too scared to check the terms of use. The least they could do was to allow me to take my time renaming the picture that i saved on my Desktop. I am a paying user, and i have the same issue with my work account as well (and with work account, updates may even take longer).
With this said, good luck. If i were a developer i would start a lock when the renaming event occurs. But they are the experts.