FTC HALTS MASSIVE TECH SUPPORT SCAMS:
Want to find out if this was scam .
I just got called from Microsoft office in california , and im from eastern europe so i find this strange . They didnt asked for any account information or something like that . They just told me that someone is stealing my inditity or something like that , then asked me to type www.fastsupport.com in my browser , and after that to instal "GoToAssist" .After that they installed Advanced WindowCare V2 on my pc , show me the problems i have , and offer me to buy some program from Microsoft , with 1 year plan, 5 years plan, life plan . I didnt buy it so I wonder was that a scam or anything like that , and should i be afraid . And after they finished they uinstalled those programs from my pc. If that wasnt scam and my pc is in the condition they said , i might buy it .
Windows for home | Other | Security and privacy
Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.
Hi Crystal,
To answer your question, they may be able to access your personal information. We suggest that you change your password for security purposes.
We also recommend you to read this article regarding technical support scams so you can avoid cyber scam via phone calls.
Do let us know if you have any other concerns.
41 additional answers
Sort by: Newest
-
Anonymous
2017-03-01T16:26:22+00:00 Yes, definitely a scam, never EVER let anyone who claims to be from a support service to access your PC until you are 100% sure they are legitimate. Most of these guys will just trawl your files looking for bank details and will ask you for crazy amounts of money for support, you will then be left with no money and will then have serious problems with your bank as you will have to then get them to make various changes or blocks to your account to stop them taking even more from you.
Regards,
M
-
Anonymous
2017-02-28T17:29:42+00:00 I called the number on the pop-up and they asked for my name and birthday. I gave it to them and then they asked me to Run "www.fastsupport.com" so I went and they had me punch in a security code. It then opened a program called GoToAssist on my computer and they asked me to download it but I didn't want to, so I hung up.
-
Anonymous
2017-01-11T15:26:21+00:00 Just happen to me , it came on my computer said your ID address has been hacked, call this # immediately .go to picture of the window logo hit then typr R then type in 1explore(space)www.fastsupport.com. It said do not try to turn off your computer and I could not x out of it either. I think that he was the spam then you type in your name and he will give you a support key, I was already feeling very uncomfortable with this, so I hung up, he called back my # but i did not answer, so I turn off my computer and restarted it and it's working fine. How can this be stop when Microsoft come up you think that it's legit.