Want to find out if this was scam .

Anonymous
2012-10-09T13:17:27+00:00

I just got called from Microsoft office in california , and im from eastern europe so i find this strange . They didnt asked for any account information or something like that . They just told me that someone is stealing my inditity  or something like that , then asked me to type www.fastsupport.com in my browser , and after that to instal "GoToAssist" .After that they installed Advanced WindowCare V2 on my pc , show me the problems i have , and offer me to buy some program from Microsoft , with 1 year plan, 5 years plan, life plan . I didnt buy it so I wonder was that a scam or anything like that , and should i be afraid . And after they finished they uinstalled those programs from my pc. If that wasnt scam and my pc is in the condition they said , i might buy it .

Windows for home | Other | Security and privacy

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2012-10-09T13:50:50+00:00

FTC HALTS MASSIVE TECH SUPPORT SCAMS:

http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2012/10/pecon.shtm

Was this answer helpful?

300+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2017-03-01T20:36:38+00:00

Hi Crystal,

To answer your question, they may be able to access your personal information. We suggest that you change your password for security purposes.

We also recommend you to read this article regarding technical support scams so you can avoid cyber scam via phone calls.

Do let us know if you have any other concerns.

Was this answer helpful?

100+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

41 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2016-11-21T16:35:40+00:00

    yes, but fastsupport.com is not the scam the people using it are. For more info about scammmers go to this:

    https://www.youtube.com/user/LewissTech

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2016-11-17T20:53:35+00:00

    I just received a call from them.  I asked where they were calling from and they said San Francisco.  I asked another question and determined they had no idea about San Francisco.  They hung up on me after that.

    I initially was speaking with a woman and than was switched over to a man.  Both spoke with Indian accents.  He wanted me to go to the website fastsupport.com. 

    This is definitely a scam.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2016-09-07T23:25:31+00:00

    I got a call from "Microsoft Tech support" *thick Hindi accent*  they said my identity was stolen.  I figured it was a scam call so for fun i played along a bit.  they told me to get in front of my pc and hold the windows button and then press R.  of course i didn't, then they said go to fastsupport.com.  so i told him my connection was slow.  He **transfers me to his supervisor *less thick Hindi accent.  lol they think of everything.  hey asks me what is happening I tell him it is still loading.  he then says I have a really slow computer.  I say "Tell me about it"  he then calls me every curse word under the sun and I say you are the scammer and I get called names! lol wow.  don't believe these people!

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments