Managing bookmarks, browsing history, and downloads in Edge on Windows 10
This browser is no longer supported.
Upgrade to Microsoft Edge to take advantage of the latest features, security updates, and technical support.
I had set up Workspaces in my Edge account (on a secondary personal Windows account that I set up with my work email) and had a Favorites folder with a few items on the Favorites bar of one of those Workspaces. I was attempting to create a new Favorites folder. I dragged the new folder into a Workspaces folder in the Favorites pane in an attempt to keep the Favorites folder in that Workspace. Now all the existing folders and favorites I had set up are stuck. I can't drag, delete, rename, etc. I can select the items (screenshot 1) and choose "delete", and a pop-up says they've been deleted, but they just sit there selected (screenshot 2).
I ended up deleting the Edge account and recreating the Favorites folders and a few new folders in a clean profile. It was my plan to recreate my Workspaces, but they didn't show up anywhere until I synced the new profile (back to the original email address). When I did that Workspaces came back with all the clutter that I was trying to delete and now I have dupe folders and Favorites that I can't remove from Workspaces in addition to the new Favorites folders I created.
The Favorites folders show up in the Favorites bar of both Workspaces and each has an empty folder with the name of the Workspace in the Favorites bar (circled in red in screenshots 3 & 4), in addition to the Favorites folders. How can I permanently remove the Workspaces so I can rebuild them cleanly? Also, is there a way to have specific Favorites folders for specific Workspaces (I swear I had it set up that way, but I don't know what happened)? I'm fairly new to this, so I'm sorry if this is confusing.
Managing bookmarks, browsing history, and downloads in Edge on Windows 10
Hi,
If the Favorites you deleted keeps reappearing, this only means that the data on the server is corrupted. This can only be fixed by resetting that data on the server and resyncing a new one. However, resetting it will also delete all your Workspaces. If you need to backup specific folders in your Favorites, you can use this extension:
Once you've already backed up your Favorites, you can proceed the reset by going into Settings > Profiles > Sync > Reset sync data from Microsoft servers > Reset sync. Once done, you can now recreate a new Workspace and import the Favorites you backed up. If you don't need to backup then you can proceed directly with the reset.