What happens to my data when I delete a copilot conversation?

Alex 20 Reputation points
2026-08-20T06:22:57.31+00:00

If I delete a Copilot conversation, is that data still stored on Microsoft servers?

If so, is it stored permanently, or will it eventually get deleted?

This question is for the personal/consumer version of copilot

Microsoft Copilot | Microsoft Security Copilot
0 comments No comments

Answer accepted by question author
Carl-L 21,320 Reputation points Microsoft External Staff Moderator
2026-08-20T11:02:04.5+00:00

Hello Alex,

Welcome to Microsoft Q&A forum.

Copilot deleted data will remain in the system for a while, however, they will not stay permanently. Even undeleted Copilot chat history will be removed if not return in a long time. So you can rest assured that the data you deleted will not be on the server forever. Usually, after a retention period, the data will also be removed from the server. I hope this clarifies.


If the answer is helpful, please click "Yes". If you have extra questions about this answer, please click "Comment".

Note: Please follow the steps in our documentation to enable e-mail notifications if you want to receive the related email notification for this thread.

Was this answer helpful?

2 people found this answer helpful.

0 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful

Your answer

Answers can be marked as 'Accepted' by the question author and 'Recommended' by moderators, which helps users know the answer solved the author's problem.