Copilot iPad App – Undocumented Image Upload Limits Blocking Paid Usage

Jim Linkhauer 0 Reputation points
2026-06-27T12:58:31.31+00:00

I am a long-time Microsoft 365 subscriber (Family plan) and rely heavily on Microsoft tools for both personal and professional work.

Recently, while using the Copilot app on iPad, I began encountering a recurring issue: when pasting images into the chat, I receive a message stating that I have reached a photo upload limit and am prompted to upgrade or wait for a reset.

Key concerns:

Undocumented usage limits

  • There is no clear documentation explaining:
    - how many image uploads are allowed
    
          - what the actual limit is
    
                - when or how usage resets
    
                   - The UI suggests a time-based reset (e.g., “come back in 24 hours”), which is not reliably accurate.
    
                   **Inconsistent behavior across platforms**
    
                      - The same account works correctly:
    
                            - in Edge sidebar Copilot
    
                                  - in other Copilot chat environments
    
                                     - The issue appears isolated to the **iPad Copilot app**, suggesting inconsistent enforcement or implementation.
    
                                     **Impact on paid usage**
    
                                        - I am a paying Microsoft 365 customer and reasonably expect consistent access to available features.
    
                                           - The current behavior:
    
                                                 - blocks functionality arbitrarily
    
                                                       - increases workflow friction
    
                                                             - requires switching tools and rebuilding context mid-task
    
                                                             **Misleading upgrade messaging**
    
                                                                - The prompt to “upgrade for more uploads” is unclear:
    
                                                                      - it does not specify what additional capacity is gained
    
                                                                            - it does not guarantee resolution of the issue
    
                                                                               - This creates confusion about what is actually being offered.
    

Request

I would like clarification on the following:

  • What are the actual limits for image uploads in Copilot (especially on iPad)?
  • Why are these limits not clearly documented?
  • Why is behavior inconsistent across different Copilot entry points?
  • What does an “upgrade” concretely provide in terms of limits or guarantees?
  • Is this behavior expected, or is it a defect specific to the iPad app?I am a long-time Microsoft 365 subscriber (Family plan) and rely heavily on Microsoft tools for both personal and professional work. Recently, while using the Copilot app on iPad, I began encountering a recurring issue:
    when pasting images into the chat, I receive a message stating that I have reached a photo upload limit and am prompted to upgrade or wait for a reset.

    Key concerns:

    1. Undocumented usage limits
      • There is no clear documentation explaining:
      • how many image uploads are allowed
      • what the actual limit is
      • when or how usage resets
      • The UI suggests a time-based reset (e.g., “come back in 24 hours”), which is not reliably accurate.
    2. Inconsistent behavior across platforms
      • The same account works correctly:
      • in Edge sidebar Copilot
      • in other Copilot chat environments
      • The issue appears isolated to the iPad Copilot app, suggesting inconsistent enforcement or implementation.
    3. Impact on paid usage
      • I am a paying Microsoft 365 customer and reasonably expect consistent access to available features.
      • The current behavior:
      • blocks functionality arbitrarily
      • increases workflow friction
      • requires switching tools and rebuilding context mid-task
    4. Misleading upgrade messaging
      • The prompt to “upgrade for more uploads” is unclear:
      • it does not specify what additional capacity is gained
      • it does not guarantee resolution of the issue
      • This creates confusion about what is actually being offered.

    Request

    I would like clarification on the following:
    • What are the actual limits for image uploads in Copilot (especially on iPad)?
    • Why are these limits not clearly documented?
    • Why is behavior inconsistent across different Copilot entry points?
    • What does an “upgrade” concretely provide in terms of limits or guarantees?
    • Is this behavior expected, or is it a defect specific to the iPad app?
Microsoft Copilot | Other
0 comments No comments

Your answer

Answers can be marked as 'Accepted' by the question author and 'Recommended' by moderators, which helps users know the answer solved the author's problem.