Faulting module name: VBE7.DLL Crashing Excel

Anonymous
2024-01-04T17:06:22+00:00

This has been happening over and over again.... causing a considerable waste of valuable time:

Faulting application name: EXCEL.EXE, version: 16.0.17029.20108, time stamp: 0x657123fc

Faulting module name: VBE7.DLL, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x649f24f9

Exception code: 0xc0000005

Fault offset: 0x00000000000f1a68

Faulting process id: 0x18fc

Faulting application start time: 0x01da3f2dcece709a

Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Root\Office16\EXCEL.EXE

Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VBA\VBA7.1\VBE7.DLL

Report Id: 363bb56e-f4df-4eb0-9249-64123963d735

Faulting package full name: 

Faulting package-relative application ID: 

Will Microsoft EVER fix this ?

Cheers,

Ed

Microsoft 365 and Office | Excel | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

44 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2024-06-13T09:35:28+00:00

    I just noticed a very similar crash. I may have some useful information here:

    1. I repeatedly tried the following thing over again:
      I pressed Delete on an empty cell in my Excel work sheet, which has some VBA macro code behind it which I wrote. But it somehow resulted in an error and a question if I wanted to start debugging it. When clicking Yes to start the debugging, Excel immediately closed entirely. Obviously a crash.
    2. Eventually, after several attempts, I decided to save my document first, then I reopened it, en the issue was suddenly completely resolved. No exception anymore, no prompt to start debugging, everything was fine again.
    3. Then I decided to check the Windows Eventlog, and I discovered the same error information as people reported here, with VBE7.DLL, error code 0xc0000005 (which means Access Violation), often meaning that something goes some direction in memory (wrong pointer in C/C++, out of bounds read, etc.). Whoops.
      Often also a security issue. Maybe a good idea if they research this.

    Extra info:

    > The Excel document sits on a OneDrive location.

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-12T18:09:58+00:00

    I can confirm it does not. I am on 2402 and still have regular crashes. The code compiles cleanly. I've found it has more to do with userforms/macros than macros.

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-02-06T03:49:15+00:00

    So far reverting to O365 2310 has resolved all of the instability we were experiencing with macro enabled worksheets.

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-01-09T23:10:34+00:00

    Microsoft !!!

    Will you ever FIX the BUG you have in Excel when a PC uses 2 or more monitors where your code CANNOT handle it with ActiveX controls?

    It's been, at least, 6 years since it was first reported and you have done NOTHING !!!!!

    NOTHING about it !!!!

    What a SHAME !!!

    Cheers,

    Ed

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-01-04T20:56:25+00:00

    Hi EOutlook,

    Thanks for contacting us and sorry for the inconveniences,

    The error message "Faulting module name: VBE7.DLL" means that Excel is crashing due to a problem with the Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) editor.

    To fix this error, you can try the following solutions:

    • Repair your VBA code or remove any unnecessary or problematic macros. To do this, open your Excel file in safe mode by holding the Ctrl key while launching Excel, then go to Developer > Visual Basic and check your code for errors or warnings. You can also use the Debug > Compile VBA Project command to find and fix any syntax errors. If you have any unused or unwanted macros, you can delete them from the Project Explorer window.
    • Change your VBA settings to match your Excel version and system configuration. To do this, open your Excel file in safe mode, then go to Developer > Visual Basic > Tools > VBA Project Properties > General and make sure the Compile On Demand and Background Compile options are unchecked. Then go to Tools > Options > General and make sure the Break on All Errors option is checked.
    • Update your VBA libraries or install any missing ones. To do this, open your Excel file in safe mode, then go to Developer > Visual Basic > Tools > References and check if any of the listed references are marked as MISSING or have a different version than your Excel version. If so, you can either uncheck them or browse for the correct or updated version of the library file. You can also use the Tools > Add-Ins command to install any additional libraries that you may need.
    • Repair or update your Excel installation. To do this, go to Control Panel > Programs > Programs and Features > select the Office > right-click and select Change > Online repair. You can also check for any available updates for your Office version by going to File > Account > Update Options > Update Now.

    Let me know if this helps or if you need further assistance.

    Regards, Sola

    “Give back to the Community. Help the next person who has this issue by indicating if this reply solved your problem. Click Yes or No below. “

    Kindly note that this is a user to user forum, we are users helping other users, we aren't Microsoft employee neither are we Microsoft agents.

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments