"Delete Shared Item?" Notification pops up every time files are deleted from OneDrive Shortcuts

Anonymous
2024-03-22T18:57:43+00:00

Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.

Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.

Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

61 answers

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-03-27T21:42:26+00:00

    need this fixed! same problem

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-28T04:19:22+00:00

    Same issue.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-28T12:49:09+00:00

    Same issue.

    Also, the message "the owner's recycle bin on OneDrive.com " is not fully accurate - if this is a synced SharePoint library, it puts it in the SharePoint site's recycle bin. Sure, if it is your own Desktop, it will go into your own OneDrive recycle bin, but this is not the case with synced SharePoint libraries.

    Users always seem to ignore OneDrive sync icons, even when it is a red x. This new feature makes it so that files are often going to never be deleted from SharePoint, which could cause a lot of confusion over the long run.

    Also, if you have deleted several files, your only option are to keep all, or delete all, you cannot selectively decide.

    This change is a real big problem.

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Deleted

    This answer has been deleted due to a violation of our Code of Conduct. The answer was manually reported or identified through automated detection before action was taken. Please refer to our Code of Conduct for more information.


    Comments have been turned off. Learn more

  5. Deleted

    This answer has been deleted due to a violation of our Code of Conduct. The answer was manually reported or identified through automated detection before action was taken. Please refer to our Code of Conduct for more information.


    Comments have been turned off. Learn more