"Delete Shared Item?" Notification pops up every time files are deleted from OneDrive Shortcuts

Anonymous
2024-03-22T18:57:43+00:00

Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.

Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.

Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

61 answers

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T15:43:15+00:00

    Hello,

    So is this a new feature and not a bug ?

    I'm having the same issue on my company as well and I don't want to have that.

    The users are having issues with this confirmation and causing problems.

    If this is a new feature is there anyway to turn it off ? Would you post step by step where each user or the admin have to turn off this feature ?

    Thank you!

    Best Regards,

    Vinicius

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T18:21:26+00:00

    Porrelaar_,

    Thank you so much for this suggestion! This will work as a temp solution however, just to note for others that may try this, when you install the OneDrive app, it creates a Task scheduler job to enable auto-updates. After the first re-install it auto updated to the most current version again, so I had to go in and disable the task by doing the following:

    1. Go to Windows search, look for "Task scheduler" > Click on Root "Task schedule library"
    2. Disable jobs with the "OneDrive Standalone Update Task" name

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T19:13:49+00:00

    Nothing new to share here but to just say that I'm also experiencing the same issue and the timing couldn't be worse! We literally just started migrating the users' files from an onsite network share to SharePoint and I noticed this the other night!

    How confusing for the staff...I have to instruct them on this extra step (technically 2!) and then once this issue is resolved I then say guess what - you don't have to worry about that anymore! It's not good for user adoption - hopefully resolved soon as this will lead to significant user frustration!

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T23:43:10+00:00

    i just started noticing this last week as well. how absolutely frustrating!!

    we need to have the ability to turn this off, or delete files w/o this annoying confirmation.

    the first time it happened, i kept the files 'cuz i didn't know what it was and was afraid i messed something up. then i went to my project folders over the next couple of days, i found multiple versions of files i had been working on in the past few days (the ones i thought i had deleted!!). UGH!!!

    😡

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-03-27T15:26:20+00:00

    We are having the exact same issue. Not being able to turn this off is very frustrating, especially since this prompt halts further syncing until you take the extra steps to delete the file.

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments