"Delete Shared Item?" Notification pops up every time files are deleted from OneDrive Shortcuts

Anonymous
2024-03-22T18:57:43+00:00

Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.

Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.

Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

61 answers

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-03-25T21:59:47+00:00

    Cliff,

    This is a big issue. Please review the comments below.

    My team is losing progress because the files we're working on together will not sync until you deal with the notification. EVERY TIME YOU DELETE A FILE. Because of our power query integrations, and the spottiness of them syncing, we lose progress if we are not syncing often. This deletion feature is a new "Feature", and it is NOT ready for production. Please remove it ASAP.

    Version 24.045.0303.0003

    Thomas

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T02:17:58+00:00

    Hi Porrelaar.

    I have version: 24.045.0303.0003 and this problem also occurs here.

    Porrelaar rolled back to 24.020.0128.0003 to fix it, so maybe it was introduced with your version?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T13:37:38+00:00

    My company is having the same issue. The reason we use the sync function is because it is easier and faster since Teams/SharePoint are not user friendly when you are trying to modify or merge files. This has made our day to day work harder and takes more time that we don't always have.

    I hope Microsoft fixes this soon. There should at least be an option to default to delete for everyone so we don't have to click the button every time we delete a file.

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T14:57:59+00:00

    We are having the same problem. I hope there is a solution to this problem soon.

    Was this answer helpful?

    3 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-03-26T15:34:00+00:00

    It looks like this issue was introduced in one of the following versions:

    Version 22.253.1204.0001 (January 9, 2023)

    • We've resolved product issues to improve the reliability and performance of the OneDrive sync app.

    • New features gradually rolling out:

    • Top down deletes. We've changed how OneDrive sync propagates deletes to the backend, allowing the web recycle bin to match the actions of the user. In the past, if a user deleted a folder, all the contents of the folder would show up as individual items in the recycle bin. With this change, users would only see the parent folder in the recycle bin, allowing them to restore everything easily, and quickly.

    Version 22.238.1114.0002 (December 2, 2022)

    • We've resolved product issues to improve the reliability and performance of the OneDrive sync app.

    • New features gradually rolling out: • Updated settings experience. We've updated the Settings experience to make it easier for users to manage OneDrive Sync.

    The one from 2022 definitely removed some Settings that used to address this topic.

    Source: OneDrive release notes - Microsoft Support

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments