"Delete Shared Item?" Notification pops up every time files are deleted from OneDrive Shortcuts

Anonymous
2024-03-22T18:57:43+00:00

Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.

Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.

Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

61 answers

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-04-01T20:36:04+00:00

    We are also no longer seeing this issue. OneDrive version number did not change, but the issue is gone.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-04-01T21:17:57+00:00

    Still Happening Here

    Was this answer helpful?

    3 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-04-01T21:38:54+00:00

    It seems to be gone when deleting synced SharePoint files but the confirmation still appears when deleting shared OneDrive files.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-04-01T21:45:56+00:00

    Ah. Deleting shared files is the issue for me. I used to always unshare files by deleting them with Windows Explorer but now I have to also click on the systray icon and approve every deletion. When’ll this become a setting?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-04-01T22:05:26+00:00

    Still happening with shared One Drive files and synching does stop until the deletion request is approved, each time.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments