"Delete Shared Item?" Notification pops up every time files are deleted from OneDrive Shortcuts

Anonymous
2024-03-22T18:57:43+00:00

Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.

Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.

Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

61 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-03-28T18:56:03+00:00

    I sure did Heather and thanks for posting that cause it complete makes sense. In my environment I even had that window for tasks up while I uninstalled onedrive and put older client on but by the time I could disable the updater task it already updated my onedrive.

    So next test for me (working on this around other calls) is to also disable Internet so it can't auto update until I can disable task.

    So Heather you can confirm this older version worked for you then?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-28T18:52:07+00:00

    Hi DMan__71,

    Did you happen to disable the auto-update task in the task scheduler before reinstalling the Feb version? Here is something I shared in an earlier reply.

    When you install the OneDrive app, it creates a Task scheduler job to enable auto-updates. After the first re-install it auto updated to the most current version again, so I had to go in and disable the task by doing the following:

    1. Go to Windows search, look for "Task scheduler" > Click on Root "Task schedule library"
    2. Disable jobs with the "OneDrive Standalone Update Task" name

    Also, in one instance, I had reinstalled and before signing in it started to auto-update again, so quickly selected "Quit OneDrive" and went back into the task scheduler to disable the second task that was created.

    Image

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-28T18:39:25+00:00

    It sure is frustrating end users on my end all angry if they have to do a extra click and not earn a cookie or something.

    Hopefully someone from MS sees this and the forum gets more ppl onboard but then again you see so so so many of these get mentioned and never resolved. I'd settle for a work around that works like a older client version. I tried going to Feb version and same issue.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-03-28T17:41:25+00:00

    i tried the link you posted above, but it doesn't open the hub, unfortunately. and when i click on the blue link below, it opens a blank window.

    man, this issue is sooo frustrating!!!

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-03-28T17:30:02+00:00

    We have exact same issue and exact same angry end users. Feedback hub post takes me a blank page so can't give a plug there to help the cause but good idea so the right ppl can hopefully notice the issue.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments