A Microsoft file hosting and synchronization service.
This issue no longer occurs for anyone in our office as of this morning, and we are all hopeful this doesn't happen again!!
We are on build 24.055.0317.0002
This browser is no longer supported.
Upgrade to Microsoft Edge to take advantage of the latest features, security updates, and technical support.
Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.
Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.
Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!
A Microsoft file hosting and synchronization service.
Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.
This issue no longer occurs for anyone in our office as of this morning, and we are all hopeful this doesn't happen again!!
We are on build 24.055.0317.0002
Can someone at Microsoft with the right knowledge answer our questions, thanks.
Same issue.
Also, the message "the owner's recycle bin on OneDrive.com " is not fully accurate - if this is a synced SharePoint library, it puts it in the SharePoint site's recycle bin. Sure, if it is your own Desktop, it will go into your own OneDrive recycle bin, but this is not the case with synced SharePoint libraries.
Users always seem to ignore OneDrive sync icons, even when it is a red x. This new feature makes it so that files are often going to never be deleted from SharePoint, which could cause a lot of confusion over the long run.
Also, if you have deleted several files, your only option are to keep all, or delete all, you cannot selectively decide.
This change is a real big problem.
i just started noticing this last week as well. how absolutely frustrating!!
we need to have the ability to turn this off, or delete files w/o this annoying confirmation.
the first time it happened, i kept the files 'cuz i didn't know what it was and was afraid i messed something up. then i went to my project folders over the next couple of days, i found multiple versions of files i had been working on in the past few days (the ones i thought i had deleted!!). UGH!!!
😡
My company is having the same issue. The reason we use the sync function is because it is easier and faster since Teams/SharePoint are not user friendly when you are trying to modify or merge files. This has made our day to day work harder and takes more time that we don't always have.
I hope Microsoft fixes this soon. There should at least be an option to default to delete for everyone so we don't have to click the button every time we delete a file.