"Delete Shared Item?" Notification pops up every time files are deleted from OneDrive Shortcuts

Anonymous
2024-03-22T18:57:43+00:00

Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.

Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.

Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

61 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2024-03-25T20:15:32+00:00

    We are experiencing the same issue!

    We have a department here that relies heavily on going through eFax documents that are delivered into Sharepoint. They spend most of their day going through these documents and then deleting them or moving them. However, over the last few days, they are receiving the notification the OP mentioned, which stops their OneDrive from syncing.

    This needs to be fixed ASAP.

    Was this answer helpful?

    6 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-27T18:59:31+00:00

    Please fix this ASAP. This feature is untenable for how our company works

    Was this answer helpful?

    5 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-25T13:47:37+00:00

    Hi Porrelaar.

    I have version: 24.045.0303.0003 and this problem also occurs here.

    Was this answer helpful?

    5 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-03-24T22:29:33+00:00

    Neither of the suggestions work

    Was this answer helpful?

    5 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-03-25T21:59:47+00:00

    Cliff,

    This is a big issue. Please review the comments below.

    My team is losing progress because the files we're working on together will not sync until you deal with the notification. EVERY TIME YOU DELETE A FILE. Because of our power query integrations, and the spottiness of them syncing, we lose progress if we are not syncing often. This deletion feature is a new "Feature", and it is NOT ready for production. Please remove it ASAP.

    Version 24.045.0303.0003

    Thomas

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments