"Delete Shared Item?" Notification pops up every time files are deleted from OneDrive Shortcuts

Anonymous
2024-03-22T18:57:43+00:00

Starting from yesterday, we've encountered a significant change with OneDrive shortcuts in file explorer: whenever a user attempts to delete a file, OneDrive triggers a notification labeled "Delete Shared Item?." This notification inquires whether to "Keep Items" or "Delete for Everyone." It's crucial to note that this prompt halts OneDrive from synchronizing any further modifications made by the user or others. Only after a choice is made between keeping or deleting, does OneDrive resume processing any alterations to the folders.

Initially, I suspected this issue might be tied to the OneDrive setting "Notify me before many files that I delete on my PC are removed from the cloud." Nevertheless, altering this setting did not resolve the issue, as the prompt persists after each deletion attempt, regardless if it is just 1 file or a number of them are deleted.

Any suggestions you may have are greatly appreciated!

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

61 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2024-03-25T16:41:06+00:00

    This needs to be fixed ASAP. The whole office is affected!

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-25T16:36:26+00:00

    My company has this same issue. This behavior only occurs when we sync a Teams/SharePoint library to your local computer via OneDrive. Our workflows are constantly interrupted in order to acknowledge we delete files.

    The point of OneDrive syncing is to make files easier/faster to work with. Teams and SharePoint have poor usability, preferring style over substance. Either Microsoft did this on purpose to dissuade people from using OneDrive or their usability team is so clueless/obnoxious that they overlooked this glaring usability flaw.

    What is absolutely unbelievable is that there is already a setting in OneDrive that gives a warning message if you try to delete many files at once, and even that can be toggled on/off. But now they add a brand new warning message to delete a single file, but it cannot be toggled on/off.

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-25T01:53:35+00:00

    This must be a bug - i have the same since some days ago!

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-04-03T16:42:00+00:00

    This issue is still occurring for everyone in my office and we are decidedly displeased.

    Was this answer helpful?

    7 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-03-25T13:38:14+00:00

    Hi everyone,

    This seems to be an issue with one of the latest pre-release (beta) versions of OneDrive.

    I have managed to fix this by reverting back to an old version. First remove the problematic version (in this case: 24.055.0317.0001)

    After this, re-install the OneDrive production version (at this time 24.020.0128.0003): https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/onedrive-release-notes-845dcf18-f921-435e-bf28-4e24b95e5fc0?ui=nl-nl&rs=nl-nl&ad=nl 

    EDIT: Thanks @Heather_MCSC for detailing how to turn off auto update! Their quote below:

    just to note for others that may try this, when you install the OneDrive app, it creates a Task scheduler job to enable auto-updates. After the first re-install it auto updated to the most current version again, so I had to go in and disable the task by doing the following:

    1. Go to Windows search, look for "Task scheduler" > Click on Root "Task schedule library"
    2. Disable jobs with the "OneDrive Standalone Update Task" name

    Hopefully Microsoft releases a fix on the pre-release channel a.s.a.p.

    Was this answer helpful?

    7 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments