A family of Microsoft spreadsheet software with tools for analyzing, charting, and communicating data
Dear Jeff Boutain,
Good day! Thank you for posting to Microsoft Community. We are happy to help you.
As per your description, please let us cooperate and please don’t worry, we can work together to narrow down and resolve the situation.
As the problem (pop-up dialogue windows transparent) can be caused by different reason, I will appreciate you can try the normal troubleshooting steps 1 by 1 below and tell us the result.
1.You can open your Excel applications in safe mode to check whether it related to add-ins:
Right-click the Start button (lower-left corner) in Windows and click Run.
In the Runbox, type the command: excel /safe, and click OK.
Note: To stop Office Safe Mode, exit and restart your Office application. It will start in normal mode unless there's a problem opening the application.
If this situation disappeared in Safe Mode, then this issue could be caused by the incompatible add-ins, you can disable add-ins by this way: Open Excel>add-ins>Disable add-ins. For reference: disable application add-ins and COM add-ins
2.Try disabling hardware graphics acceleration for Excel application
start Excel application>click on the File tab> Options>Advanced> under Display select/click the Disable hardware graphics acceleration check box.
3.If still can’t work, please try torepair an Office application to fix the problem.
4.Additionally, in order to check whether it because of third party applications, you can perform a clean boot in Windows refer to this article.
If the issue still occurs, we’d like to collect some information to further check the scenario:
- Is this a problem with all Excel documents? Or some specific documents?
2.Screenshot of your Office version: To check version: Open Excel>File>Account>Product Information (Please mask your private message for protecting your private message)
3.Confirm whether other applications also get the same problem (pop-up dialogue windows transparent)? Such as PowerPoint or Word and etc.
4.Does this issue happen to new created files?
Your understanding and patience will be highly appreciated. I hope that you are keeping safe and well!
Sincerely,
Waqas Muhammad