OneDrive Mac - local files delete immediately instead of move to trash

Anonymous
2021-12-21T05:03:38+00:00

21.245.1128.0002 (Standalone) (Apple Silicon or Intel) (Preview) on 2020 M1 MacBook Pro macOS Monterey 12.1

With the latest build, Cmd-Del / Move to Trash any item in OneDrive on my local HD results in "Are you sure you want to delete 'filename'? This item will be deleted immediately. You can’t undo this action."

This does not occur when deleting from any other location on my HD, where files move to the Trash normally.

I have checked & reset permissions on User and OneDrive folders, reset OneDrive, uninstalled & reinstalled OneDrive, rebuilt the .Trash directory, and more, all with no luck. Any ideas?

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | MacOS

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2021-12-22T02:48:24+00:00

Hi FraserDon,

I go through the post carefully, I test on my side in OneDrive for Mac on Mac OS Monterey with latest version, and I can repro the same behaviour as you said and get a similar prompt. I am really sorry for the inconvenience this causes, as it seems that you are using Preview version of OneDrive, and would suggest you give feedback on the issue to the related developer team of OneDrive for Mac by select OneDrive icon>Send feedback. Your feedback will promote the related developer team of OneDrive to change the behaviour in OneDrive sync folder. Thanks for your efforts and understanding!

Additionally, though you may not find the deleted file from trash on Mac, you may find it from OneDrive recycle bin and you may restore it from here if you want. Check the link for more information on: Restore deleted files or folders in OneDrive (microsoft.com)

Best Regards,

Clark

Was this answer helpful?

10 people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

59 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2022-04-29T15:13:58+00:00

    Yes the behavior seems to have been fixed, but the messaging from the app is often in accurate. As in your example yes, the file will be permanently deleted on your computer, but it is still available online using the recover tool provided by Microsoft

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2022-04-29T14:41:28+00:00

    Does that change the 'delete' behaviour for you then?

    For me, even with offline files in my OneDrive folder (where 'Always keep on this device' is set to ON), when I go to delete them, I'm told that it will be permanent and unrecoverable:

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2022-04-29T12:28:28+00:00

    It appears to me that this issue has been resolved, and you can now chose the option to keep a local copy of all files. Funny, that the language next to one of the setup questions highlighted below seems to imply that if you PUSH THAT BUTTON, everything will download now, overwrite your existing files and never DELETE them.

    The top button makes sense... DOWNLOAD FILES AS YOU USE THEM (please... eliminate the suggestion), but the bottom one doesn't seem to be the MIRROR OPPOSITE of the other choice.

    Sort of like "Would you like fries or apple pie with your burger"... Just sayin

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2022-04-13T11:24:32+00:00

    It still this way. this seems to be the "Improved" way apple is doing with cloud storage.

    since this move, i have files that i dont have permissions to anymore and cant access them.

    I've go so far as to set them to everyone:everyone and that didnt fix the issue.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments