A family of Microsoft word processing software products for creating web, email, and print documents.
Just a reminder - in my experience: When it requests your login, you can simply exit the pop-up (X) and it will go away and the file will be stored as expected (OneDrive). Check with Windows Explorer for date and time. This is my experience - 100% of the time. Therefore, I have not downgraded - I just live with it for now, hoping for a fix in the next release.
Certainly if you want to get rid of this annoying pop-up you could downgrade but that might reverse some security patches.
For me, it appears that if I exit one time, the pop-up does not return until a reboot.
Again: Win 10 Pro, Office 2016 (not 365).
Just a thought..
scott