"The file 'name of file' may have been changed by another user since you last saved it. In that case, what do you want to do? Save a copy. Overwrite changes."

Anonymous
2017-06-23T14:12:56+00:00

I've been using Excel 2016/Office 365 and just recently, I started getting this message: "The file 'name of file' may have been changed by another user since you last saved it. In that case, what do you want to do? Save a copy. Overwrite changes."

I'm the only one working in my file. It is stored on the OneDrive for Business, which is the company supported.

How do I keep this message from appearing?  Or WHY is this message appearing?  

I saw a similar post for Excel 2013, but no help was actually given.

Microsoft 365 and Office | Excel | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2017-07-27T01:51:59+00:00

Hi All,

We've contacted the related team and would like to share the latest updates here:

For Consumer products (e.g. Home,Personal,University), the issue should has been fixed in Office version 8229.2103.

For Enterprise products (e.g. Business Premium, Enterprise), the issue will be fixed very soon in few days, the expected Office version number is 8201.2140.

Thanks,

Jim

Was this answer helpful?

0 comments No comments

133 additional answers

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Anonymous
    2017-07-24T13:08:35+00:00

    I was told by support engineers this is an internal issue and the issue will simply go away when the internal issue is resolved.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2017-07-24T13:30:01+00:00

    I raised the issue with OneDrive support folks. Their solution, described below, worked for me. 

    1. Open OneDrive settings by doing a right click on OneDrive cloud icon in your notification area, you might have to click show hidden items to see the icon (upward pointing arrow)​
    2. Select Settings
    3. Go to Office tab
    4. Un-check "Use Office 2016 to sync...."

    Regards.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2017-07-24T13:35:59+00:00

    Unfortunately, at least for us, this is not an option. This removes the ability to sync SharePoint documents which are used by multiple users in our tenant. If you remove the check from the checkbox, the possibility of shared documents being changed or overwritten without other users knowledge will occur. This is not a fix action for many people...and it is a dangerous one at that. This was also recommended by support to me...which I think they should not be recommending as a fix action without explaining the possible repercussions.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2017-07-24T13:42:57+00:00

    ...This is not a fix action for many people...and it is a dangerous one at that. This was also recommended by support to me...which I think they should not be recommending as a fix action without explaining the possible repercussions.          

    I agree MS tech are too eager to suggest fixes without considering the consequences.

    I had one tell me to try checking "Share with Everyone" when I had problems sharing specific ODB folders with specific customers.   They had no explanation of what "everyone" actually means, and no understanding why sharing customers' secret data with "everyone" might be catastrophic for my business.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments