Hi Stefan,
I have a Local "One Drive" folder on my PC, I open my files from there, One Drive should keep a copy of anything in that folder on the cloud.
Today I opened one of my files stored in the one drive folder on my PC,
Word thinks, and thinks and thinks some more...my coffee is going cold, then I get this:

I check "Remember" then click OK
Word thinks again ZZZZZzzzzzzz!
Then it opens my file (READ ONLY)(PROTECTED MODE)
Then it gives me this message:

I have not edited the file, the file is from my PC, It's my file, there is no "Someone", I'm the only person who has access, it is not a shared file.
So, Close the File, Close word, START AGAIN.
I'm sick of this flaw in One Drive and Office! These are my files and I want control back. So back to the original question: How do I turn this Microsoft BIG BROTHER interference off? These are my files, I want to be the entity that decides what is read
only and what is not.
Regards
Chris
.