Hi Stefan,
I'm having the same problem. I received a MS 97 - 2003 document from a customer that I am now editing. It's a legal contract that I need to send back to my customer, and we'll be going back and forth for many rounds to come. I spent six hours making
changes yesterday, and when I closed and re-opened it (on the same PC, with the same login, within an hour or so), it now tracks my new edits as changes to the text I added earlier. It actually shows my same user name as two different individuals (and in
two different colors). So, let's say I added a paragraph yesterday, and now today I want to delete it. When I delete it, it shows as struck-out text, it doesn't just disappear like I wanted it to. Saving and re-opening the document did not resolve the issue. My
own items that I moved or deleted are still showing as moved or deleted. I also tried to save it as a Word 2013 document, but that didn't help either.
I have hundreds of minor modifications to make and I don't have time to go through accepting every tiny change. Ugh! I'm going crazy!
I really look forward to any insight you can provide from the MS team.