Disable "pick up where you left off"

Anonymous
2013-05-22T16:45:22+00:00

Have any of you figured out how to turn this "Welcome back, pick up where you left off" bookmark thing? I've gone through all the options and add-ins I can find, and I can't make it stop doing this.

Thanks!

Microsoft 365 and Office | Word | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2013-06-11T20:49:21+00:00

On the same track I deleted all the subkeys under 'Reading Locations' and then made the 'Reading Locations' key read-only to everyone.

This has stopped Word writing to the key and I no longer get the message when I re-open a document.

Was this answer helpful?

70+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2013-06-10T03:54:05+00:00

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Word\Reading Locations

That looks like a good place to start.

Was this answer helpful?

60+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

91 additional answers

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Stefan Blom 352.1K Reputation points MVP Volunteer Moderator
    2014-05-24T22:36:33+00:00

    If you expand the Reading Locations key you'll find subkeys called Document 0, Document 1, etc. The subkeys can be deleted. Just select each of them and press Delete. Right-click the Reading Locations key and select Permissions from the context menu. There you'll find the necessary options.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2014-05-25T03:51:04+00:00

    Ok, I think I am getting there :)  Once I delete the documents, and then right click Reading Locations and select Permissions, what option do I select there.

    Thanks again - really appreciate your input.

    Charlie

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Stefan Blom 352.1K Reputation points MVP Volunteer Moderator
    2014-05-25T10:31:20+00:00

    You have to "Deny" access for the users listed.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments