Disable "pick up where you left off"

Anonymous
2013-05-22T16:45:22+00:00

Have any of you figured out how to turn this "Welcome back, pick up where you left off" bookmark thing? I've gone through all the options and add-ins I can find, and I can't make it stop doing this.

Thanks!

Microsoft 365 and Office | Word | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2013-06-11T20:49:21+00:00

On the same track I deleted all the subkeys under 'Reading Locations' and then made the 'Reading Locations' key read-only to everyone.

This has stopped Word writing to the key and I no longer get the message when I re-open a document.

Was this answer helpful?

70+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2013-06-10T03:54:05+00:00

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Word\Reading Locations

That looks like a good place to start.

Was this answer helpful?

60+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

91 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2014-06-22T00:38:00+00:00

    With decades of programming experience behind them I would hope the guys at Microsoft can find a way to cater to both new and experienced customers. Like having a "turn off this feature" button.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Stefan Blom 352.1K Reputation points MVP Volunteer Moderator
    2014-06-21T18:04:02+00:00

    My guess is that most experienced users want a way to turn off the setting in the user interface. However, recent versions of Word (since the introduction of the ribbon) have been made with the inexperienced user in mind, I believe.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2014-06-20T23:58:25+00:00

    You would think that a new feature, that a large number of users wouldn't use, and that presents an annoying inconvenience to people who use Word like I do, could be turned off without a hack (which I'm uncomfortable doing despite being a Word user since WIndows 3.1). I've been using 2013 for 6 months now and I still make the mistake of immediately trying to work in a newly opened document during those first few seconds when the "pick up" notice is displayed, only to discover I've messed up and I have to CTRL-Z six times.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments