WD2013 : Won't allow tables to break across pages

Anonymous
2013-02-23T00:36:16+00:00

I am an intermediate level user of word but seem to be getting stuck on this item with WD2013.  Routinely when I create or paste in tables, WD2013 will not allow the tables to break across pages.  I have done the usual table properties checks (allow break) and paragraph checks (keep with next) but no luck.  I am admittedly only a few weeks old with WD2013, so I'm hoping it is just another setting I'm missing in the new format.

**email address**

Any help is appreciated.

***Personal information deleted by the moderator. Please see the Microsoft Community Frequently Asked Questions for more information on how you can protect your privacy.***

Microsoft 365 and Office | Word | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

42 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2017-10-06T08:55:23+00:00

    I had this problem. Took a while to figure it out through trial and error. This is what worked for me.

    1. In Table Properties (right click after you have selected the table), go to the Row tab.
    2. Check "Allow row to break across pages."
    3. UNCHECK "Repeat as header row at the top of each page."

    If you have "Repeat as header" checked, then the table won't break.

    This may be a bug, but once I did that, the tables broke across pages as they should. No header repeat though.

    It's non-intuitive, but it worked for me.

    I am using Word 2016 and have had the same issue.  If you follow the instructions above, then click your cursor in the first row (not highlight), go back into "Table Properties" and tick the box for "Repeat as header" again.  The table should then remain split with the first row repeated on the second page.  I don't know why you have to repeat this process but it seems to work.

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2017-03-27T03:32:32+00:00

    I struggled with this issue as well, and I finally figured it out: For my table, it had to do with the Text Wrapping of the table (not the text wrapping of the text).  Here was my fix:

    • Right-click any spot on the table and select Table Properties
    • In the Table tab, look under "Text Wrapping". If it says "Around", change it to "None"
    • Click OK

    If the text wrapping for the table is already set at "None", then your issue is not the same as my issue.

    I was also tearing my hair out on this.

    Turned out in the end that my problem was with the "Table Style" - when I looked to modify this, it (independently of the paragraph styles) had "keep with next" and "keep together" applied.  Switched those off and everything worked as expected.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Stefan Blom 353.6K Reputation points MVP Volunteer Moderator
    2017-03-02T20:31:51+00:00

    UPDATE:  I FINALLY got this to work!!!  I finally was able to figure out how to turn off the grayed-out "Repeat header rows"!!!  I placed my cursor anywhere inside the table, then went to Table Tools / the Layout tab.  Far over on the right side of the Layout ribbon, I found "Repeat Header Rows" and it was selected / turned on.  Once I unselected that, the table (very long box of text that flows across almost 3 pages) is now working perfectly.....breaking where it needs to break, etc.  I appreciate all the information above....I tried just about everything that was suggested!

    When you enable the "Repeat header rows" option it applies to the selected rows, and you can't turn it off for the first row and leave it selected for the rest of the rows, as you have noticed.

    As I wrote in August 2016, it would be better if Word prevented you from selecting the option in such a way that it doesn't function properly.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2017-03-02T16:13:34+00:00

    UPDATE:  I FINALLY got this to work!!!  I finally was able to figure out how to turn off the grayed-out "Repeat header rows"!!!  I placed my cursor anywhere inside the table, then went to Table Tools / the Layout tab.  Far over on the right side of the Layout ribbon, I found "Repeat Header Rows" and it was selected / turned on.  Once I unselected that, the table (very long box of text that flows across almost 3 pages) is now working perfectly.....breaking where it needs to break, etc.  I appreciate all the information above....I tried just about everything that was suggested!

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2017-03-02T15:54:14+00:00

    Hello..... I was able to turn off "Repeat header rows" for the first row of my table (which is a very long box of text).  However, for all other rows, there is a checkmark and it is grayed out for "Repeat header rows".  I can't seem to turn that off and

    • based on some above posts - maybe that is why my table (long box of text) won't break into two pages.  It just seems to want to continue going down past the bottom margin and beyond......!  Any advice????  Thanks in advance.  (I am using Office 2016.)

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments