Header only on first page?

Anonymous
2010-07-15T21:38:17+00:00

When I create a header in 2010 it is on every page.  For the life of me I can not find a first page only box to check.

Microsoft 365 and Office | Word | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Jay Freedman 208.3K Reputation points Volunteer Moderator
2011-01-07T18:38:01+00:00

If you've already created the header text before you choose Different First Page, then the

simplest procedure is this:

  1. Select the header text and cut it to the clipboard.
  2. Set the Different First Page option.
  3. Paste the header text into the first page header.

An alternative, if Different First Page is already set, is to go to the second page

(insert a manual page break with Ctrl+Enter if there's only one page so far), cut the text

from its header, go to the first page header, and paste.


Jay Freedman

MS Word MVP  FAQ: http://word.mvps.org

Was this answer helpful?

300+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Doug Robbins - MVP - Office Apps and Services 323.6K Reputation points MVP Volunteer Moderator
2010-07-15T22:20:15+00:00

Check the "Different First Page" box in the Options section of the Header & Footer Tools design tab of the ribbon, or, on the Page Layout tab, click on the right hand end of the page Setup bar and in the Page Setup dialog, go to the Layout tab and check the "Different first page" box.

Was this answer helpful?

100+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

44 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2011-01-07T18:10:41+00:00

    I am using 2007 and when I click on  Different Fist Page the header is removed from the 1st page and reflects on subsequent pages. I just want it on the first page; how do I accomplish that? Thanks so much!

    Was this answer helpful?

    40+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2012-09-19T05:08:34+00:00

    Check the "Different First Page" box in the Options section of the Header & Footer Tools design tab of the ribbon, or, on the Page Layout tab, click on the right hand end of the page Setup bar and in the Page Setup dialog, go to the Layout tab and check the "Different first page" box.

    Word is pretty my junk. The new "design" is so confusing to user that they give up trying to use it. This problem is so simple to solve but it is beyond Microsoft to understand it. The header/footer should have a setting to "use on first page only" but they can't figure that out - after a couple of decades of having the same problem. Use Open Office - it's free, and works without having to be a mind contortionist to figure it out.

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Jay Freedman 208.3K Reputation points Volunteer Moderator
    2012-04-29T19:21:18+00:00

    The instructions said to cut the text from the existing header. It sounds like you copied it instead of cutting it. ("Copy" just puts the text in the clipboard but leaves the original where it is; "Cut" puts it on the clipboard and removes the original.)

    Was this answer helpful?

    5 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments