A family of Microsoft word processing software products for creating web, email, and print documents.
In table properties, make sure the table wrapping is set to None.
Pam
This browser is no longer supported.
Upgrade to Microsoft Edge to take advantage of the latest features, security updates, and technical support.
Recently I've moved over to office 2010, having been an Office user for 10+ years. My issue is with Word 2010. I'm ok in Word, no expert but get by and can do what I need to. I've never had the below issues before and have used this function many times on Word 2007.
When I am using tables I have selected the 'repeat header rows' function. However it is not working. Anotherwords, my header rows are not repeating on subsequent pages.
Also, when using tables, I have de-selected (from table properties) 'allow rows to break across pages', so that my rows shouldnt be split across 2 pages. However, this also is not working.
There are 5 tables in the document, all the tables were 'split' at some point via the 'split tables' function. I created the table from copying and pasting lines from a powerpoint document, then converting that text in to one table, then creating columns to the left and right of it and have hand typed the column headings.
I have tried the following, to no avail:
Is this a problem with Word 2010?
Help would be appreciated.
A family of Microsoft word processing software products for creating web, email, and print documents.
Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.
In table properties, make sure the table wrapping is set to None.
Pam
There is another issue I found that can cause a Word table row to "break" to the next page instead of staying all together, regardless of all the settings not to do so. I have been fighting with a 2010 Word doc with about 10 large rows, that I received from an associate. The third row would always break to the start of the next page. All the other rows did not break. None of the above settings made any difference with this offending row. Maddening.... Anyway, I found that in the offending row, there was some text that was marked as Heading 2 inadvertently. The "Heading 2" Style was causing this large row to break to the next page regardless of what I did. Once I changed the text style to Normal, the row quit breaking to the next page... Success!! So, look at the styles within your table - if there are any header styles applied, this might be the cause of your grief.... Thanks.
Actually, each table cell is by default a separate paragraph (of course, if you press Enter within a cell, then the cell contains more than one paragraph). To keep a row with the following one, it is usually sufficient to format any one of the cells as "Keep with next." If you select the whole row, then you're applying that formatting to all the cells. This is the same as if you selected several ordinary text paragraphs and applied paragraph formatting.
> The key to keeping rows together is to format them as "Keep with next,"
> and that check box is found on the Line and Page Breaks tab of the
> Paragraph dialog, which is accessed via the dialog launcher in the
> Paragraph group on the Home tab.
Thanks. That finally turned out to be the key to fixing it. I knew all along that I could solve it if I could only find the paragraph properties, but the paragraph properties can't be found on the right-click menu, leading me to the belief that a table was not considered to be part of a paragraph. It didn't occur to me to look at that discreet little arrow in the top menu bar.
Also, I didn't realise until now that each table row is considered to be a separate paragraph.
While the article at http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFms/KeepTableOn1Page.htm does not refer to versions after Word 2007, the procedure is exactly the same in Word 2010. The key to keeping rows together is to format them as "Keep with next," and that check box is found on the Line and Page Breaks tab of the Paragraph dialog, which is accessed via the dialog launcher in the Paragraph group on the Home tab.
The article at http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFms/ControlPgBrksInTables.htm is more extensive and, though not updated for Word 2010, is still applicable. Nothing in the way tables behave has changed between Word 2003 and Word 2013.
A "wrapped table" is a table that has had the text wrapping set to "Around." This can happen if you use the table handle to drag the table (or if you even inadvertently nudge the table when touching the handle to select it). If you don't want the table to be wrapped, you have to set the wrapping to "None" on the Table tab of Table Properties (as you say you have).