text underlined in blue

Anonymous
2010-04-01T22:44:55+00:00

When I transfer Word document, a blue line appears under all the text. What causes this?

Mal

Microsoft 365 and Office | Word | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-19T14:27:11+00:00

If you're seeing a blue underline after you change your text formatting then the option to mark formatting inconsistencies enabled. It’s like spell check for styles. If you have formatting in your document that matches a style then Word will flag it. To turn this option off:

  1. Click the Office Button
  2. Click Word Options (below your Recently Used File List)
  3. On the Advanced tab, deselect the option named Mark Formatting Inconsistencies

~Beth Melton Microsoft Office MVP

Was this answer helpful?

20+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-18T22:54:35+00:00

Hi again Mal,

As promised, here are the instructions to locate, backup and delete your Word Data registry key:

  1.  Exit all Office programs

2.  Click on Start 

  1.  Type regedit in the Search box

4.  Press Enter

This will take you to the Registry Editor window and you will need to locate the Data folder for Word 2007

1.  From the Registry Editor window click on each of these in turn to get to the correct Data file:

     *** Please be sure to follow this path exactly as described ***   

    You may need to double click to open each folder in order to get at the next folder in the list:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER (this should be at the top of the list in the Registry Editor window)

    Software

    Microsoft

    Office

    12.0

    Word

    Data

    When you get as far as the Data folder:

2.  Click on the File menu

3.  Click on Export

  1.  Name the file Wddata.reg

5.  Save the file to your Desktop.

Then:

6.  Click on the Edit menu

7.  Click on Delete

8.  Click on Yes at the prompt

9.  Exit the Registry Editor

  1. Start Word (a new Data key will be built automatically).

If the problem has gone away then it was due to a damaged Word Data registry key. Some of your settings may have been wiped out and you may need to reset them.

Let me know how you get on? 

All the best,

Sharon


Sharon Roffey

Queensland, Australia

Was this answer helpful?

1 person found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-10T23:59:25+00:00

Good morning Mal,

(If that applies where you are ... which time zone are you in by the way?)

If the Microsoft Works icon appears in the top left corner then it looks a though your documents are still associated with Works. I imagine this doesn't change with an uninstall so now we need to do a manual association so that Word recognizes them.

Right now the most important ones for you are the following:

.doc

.dochtml

.docm

.docx

.docxml

.dot

.dothtml

.dotm

.dotx

These are the files that you want Word to recognize.

So, this is what you now need to do:

1. Click on each one of the above in turn

2. Click on the Change program button

3. Click on the Microsoft Office Word icon under Recommended programs

  1. Click on OK

So, hope that does it for you.

Let me know how you get on.

BTW. Just as a "heads up", do you use other Office application e.g. Excel or PowerPoint? If so, at some point later on you may need to do some similar manual associations. The files will be easy to identify by locating Microsoft Works in the list and changing to Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, as applicable.

Best,

Sharon


Sharon Roffey

Queensland, Australia

Was this answer helpful?

0 comments No comments

49 additional answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Deleted

    This answer has been deleted due to a violation of our Code of Conduct. The answer was manually reported or identified through automated detection before action was taken. Please refer to our Code of Conduct for more information.


    Comments have been turned off. Learn more

  2. Anonymous
    2010-04-14T22:35:08+00:00

    Hi Mal,

    It's my guess that something happened to modify one of the built-in styles. We need to know which one so that we can get it back to its original format. From your description, I’m guessing it’s the Normal style.

    Try this:

    1. Open a new document and type some text (just a few words will do)
    2. If the text looks as it should, select it.
    3. Click on the Clear Formatting icon (top right in the Font group on the Home tab)
    4. Click on the little arrow in the bottom right corner of the Styles group to open the Styles list
    5. Scroll down the Style s list to see which style you are using (there will be a box around it)

        >> It’s probably Normal

    1. Point to the style in the list and click on the little arrow on the right of the Style name
    2. Choose Update [****... ] to Match Selection
    3. Repeat point 6 and choose Modify...
    4. Click on the New documents based on this template button

    By using Clear Formatting you have reset the Normal style back to its original state. By choosing the New documents based on this template in step 9, you have ensured that any new documents based on your document template use the same format for your Normal style.

    OK, so go about your normal activities and let’s see if that does the trick. If you still encounter problems we will look at your template. Before I post the instructions though, just let me know how you get on.

    It’s stretching this exercise out a little but it will keep us focussed on addressing the direct issue rather than trying to second guess Word (not for the faint-hearted, eh?)

    Let me know?

    Sharon


    Sharon Roffey

    Queensland, Australia

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments