text underlined in blue

Anonymous
2010-04-01T22:44:55+00:00

When I transfer Word document, a blue line appears under all the text. What causes this?

Mal

Microsoft 365 and Office | Word | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-19T14:27:11+00:00

If you're seeing a blue underline after you change your text formatting then the option to mark formatting inconsistencies enabled. It’s like spell check for styles. If you have formatting in your document that matches a style then Word will flag it. To turn this option off:

  1. Click the Office Button
  2. Click Word Options (below your Recently Used File List)
  3. On the Advanced tab, deselect the option named Mark Formatting Inconsistencies

~Beth Melton Microsoft Office MVP

Was this answer helpful?

20+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-18T22:54:35+00:00

Hi again Mal,

As promised, here are the instructions to locate, backup and delete your Word Data registry key:

  1.  Exit all Office programs

2.  Click on Start 

  1.  Type regedit in the Search box

4.  Press Enter

This will take you to the Registry Editor window and you will need to locate the Data folder for Word 2007

1.  From the Registry Editor window click on each of these in turn to get to the correct Data file:

     *** Please be sure to follow this path exactly as described ***   

    You may need to double click to open each folder in order to get at the next folder in the list:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER (this should be at the top of the list in the Registry Editor window)

    Software

    Microsoft

    Office

    12.0

    Word

    Data

    When you get as far as the Data folder:

2.  Click on the File menu

3.  Click on Export

  1.  Name the file Wddata.reg

5.  Save the file to your Desktop.

Then:

6.  Click on the Edit menu

7.  Click on Delete

8.  Click on Yes at the prompt

9.  Exit the Registry Editor

  1. Start Word (a new Data key will be built automatically).

If the problem has gone away then it was due to a damaged Word Data registry key. Some of your settings may have been wiped out and you may need to reset them.

Let me know how you get on? 

All the best,

Sharon


Sharon Roffey

Queensland, Australia

Was this answer helpful?

1 person found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-10T23:59:25+00:00

Good morning Mal,

(If that applies where you are ... which time zone are you in by the way?)

If the Microsoft Works icon appears in the top left corner then it looks a though your documents are still associated with Works. I imagine this doesn't change with an uninstall so now we need to do a manual association so that Word recognizes them.

Right now the most important ones for you are the following:

.doc

.dochtml

.docm

.docx

.docxml

.dot

.dothtml

.dotm

.dotx

These are the files that you want Word to recognize.

So, this is what you now need to do:

1. Click on each one of the above in turn

2. Click on the Change program button

3. Click on the Microsoft Office Word icon under Recommended programs

  1. Click on OK

So, hope that does it for you.

Let me know how you get on.

BTW. Just as a "heads up", do you use other Office application e.g. Excel or PowerPoint? If so, at some point later on you may need to do some similar manual associations. The files will be easy to identify by locating Microsoft Works in the list and changing to Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, as applicable.

Best,

Sharon


Sharon Roffey

Queensland, Australia

Was this answer helpful?

0 comments No comments

49 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2010-04-06T03:33:27+00:00

    Hi again Mal,

    One more thing before we look at other alternatives ... let’s have a look at the style applied to your text:

    1. Select the blue underlined text (<Ctrl>+<A> to select all the text in the document)
    2. Click on the little arrow in the Styles group on the Home tab to open the Styles list
    3. Click on the Style Inspector button (bottom of the Styles list, second from the left)

    >> The Style Inspector box will open, what do you see under Text level formatting?

             If you’ve brought over some kind of hyperlink it will be shown here.

    >> In that case, you could strip the formatting from the affected text by clicking on the Clear All button

             Doing this though will, of course, strip all formatting and you will need to reapply as required.


    Other questions to be answered

    Do you have any problems creating a new document in Word 2007?

    If so, then it’s possibly connected with your Word 2007 setup and you might need to reset your normal.dotm template (more about that below).

    Do you only have this problem with documents that you transfer?

    If so, how are you transferring  ... are you doing a copy/paste from an existing document? If yes, and this is where you get the problem, you may be copying some little idiosyncracies. Have you tried e-mailing the document to yourself and then doing a Save directly into Word 2007?

    Resetting your normal.dotm template

    After trying the above, and if it seems as though the problem is with your Word 2007 template, try resetting it back to the default as follows:

    The instructions below will show you how to reset your normal.dotm template

    >> You will lose some/all of the personalization you have made to your existing template though.

    1. Exit Word

    2. Click on Start

    1. Click on Run in the Start menu

    >> If you don't have Run in your menu, hold down the Windows (logo) key on your keyboard and then

             press the R key)

    1. Type %appdata% in the Run dialog box
    2. Click on OK

    6. Double click on the Microsoft folder

    1. Double click on the Templates folder
    2. Rename the normal.dotm file to normal.old
    3. Open Word ... this will create a new normal.dotm

     All new documents will be based on this new version of the template.

    So, do any of those suggestions do the trick? I hope so! Let us know either way. Other people will be coming to the forum and may have other ideas.

    All the best,

    Sharon


    Sharon Roffey

    Queensland, Australia

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2010-04-05T16:40:10+00:00

    Hi,

    Thank you both for your replies.

    I tried the suggested solutions, but I could not complete them. When I right-clicked the first highlighted word, the drop down box gave me three choices: (1) Make this text formatting with Normal (Web); (2) Ignore Once; (3) Ignore Rule. In following out each choice, none of them  permanently deleted the blue underlining.

    Mal

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments