text underlined in blue

Anonymous
2010-04-01T22:44:55+00:00

When I transfer Word document, a blue line appears under all the text. What causes this?

Mal

Microsoft 365 and Office | Word | For home | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-19T14:27:11+00:00

If you're seeing a blue underline after you change your text formatting then the option to mark formatting inconsistencies enabled. It’s like spell check for styles. If you have formatting in your document that matches a style then Word will flag it. To turn this option off:

  1. Click the Office Button
  2. Click Word Options (below your Recently Used File List)
  3. On the Advanced tab, deselect the option named Mark Formatting Inconsistencies

~Beth Melton Microsoft Office MVP

Was this answer helpful?

20+ people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-18T22:54:35+00:00

Hi again Mal,

As promised, here are the instructions to locate, backup and delete your Word Data registry key:

  1.  Exit all Office programs

2.  Click on Start 

  1.  Type regedit in the Search box

4.  Press Enter

This will take you to the Registry Editor window and you will need to locate the Data folder for Word 2007

1.  From the Registry Editor window click on each of these in turn to get to the correct Data file:

     *** Please be sure to follow this path exactly as described ***   

    You may need to double click to open each folder in order to get at the next folder in the list:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER (this should be at the top of the list in the Registry Editor window)

    Software

    Microsoft

    Office

    12.0

    Word

    Data

    When you get as far as the Data folder:

2.  Click on the File menu

3.  Click on Export

  1.  Name the file Wddata.reg

5.  Save the file to your Desktop.

Then:

6.  Click on the Edit menu

7.  Click on Delete

8.  Click on Yes at the prompt

9.  Exit the Registry Editor

  1. Start Word (a new Data key will be built automatically).

If the problem has gone away then it was due to a damaged Word Data registry key. Some of your settings may have been wiped out and you may need to reset them.

Let me know how you get on? 

All the best,

Sharon


Sharon Roffey

Queensland, Australia

Was this answer helpful?

1 person found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2010-04-10T23:59:25+00:00

Good morning Mal,

(If that applies where you are ... which time zone are you in by the way?)

If the Microsoft Works icon appears in the top left corner then it looks a though your documents are still associated with Works. I imagine this doesn't change with an uninstall so now we need to do a manual association so that Word recognizes them.

Right now the most important ones for you are the following:

.doc

.dochtml

.docm

.docx

.docxml

.dot

.dothtml

.dotm

.dotx

These are the files that you want Word to recognize.

So, this is what you now need to do:

1. Click on each one of the above in turn

2. Click on the Change program button

3. Click on the Microsoft Office Word icon under Recommended programs

  1. Click on OK

So, hope that does it for you.

Let me know how you get on.

BTW. Just as a "heads up", do you use other Office application e.g. Excel or PowerPoint? If so, at some point later on you may need to do some similar manual associations. The files will be easy to identify by locating Microsoft Works in the list and changing to Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, as applicable.

Best,

Sharon


Sharon Roffey

Queensland, Australia

Was this answer helpful?

0 comments No comments

49 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2010-04-18T22:10:22+00:00

    Hi Mal,

    Oh dear. I was thinking about you yesterday and figured (hoped) all was well.

    I am *still* convinced that it is automatic interference with your Styles so, if you have followed the instructions to set the Normal (default) style to no avail, the culprit may be lurking in template.

    I am going to suggest two possible fixes in this post. If neither works, then you will need to delete the Registry Data Key (I will put the instructions in a separate reply to keep things clear).

    OK, here goes:

    Step 1: Check the setting in your template from within Word

    These steps will show you how to add the Developer tab to your Word menu.

    1. Click on the Microsoft Office Button
    2. Click on the Word Options button
    3. In the Popular, category (this should be displayed automatically) click the Show Developer tab in the Ribbon check box.
    4. Click on OK

    Then:

    1. Click on the Developer tab that now appears in your Word menu 
    2. Click on the Document Template button
    3. You should see Normal listed under Document template
    4. Do you see a check mark in Automatically update document styles? If so, click to deselect as this will be causing the problem.
    5. Click on OK

    If you did have the checkbox marked and you unmarked it, then this will probably solve the problem. No need to do anything else if the problem is resolved. If the problem continues, go to step 2 below.

    Step 2: Resetting your normal.dotm template

    Looking through the thread, I see that we did this earlier but at that time you had a normal.dotm template that was associated with Microsoft Works. Let's try this one once more now that Works is out of the way.

    1. Exit Word

    2. Click on Start

    1. Click on Run in the Start menu

    >> If you don't have Run in your Start menu, hold down the **Windows (Windows "flag")**key in the bottom left corner of your keyboard and then

             press the R key)

    1. Type %appdata% in the Run dialog box
    2. Click on OK

    6. Double click on the Microsoft folder

    1. Double click on the Templates folder
    2. Right click on normal.dotm , choose Rename and change to normal.old
    3. Open Word ... this will create a new normal.dotm (it will be a fresh version, factory settings and should not contain any of the demons in your old version).

    OK, let's see how that works. If it doesn't solve the problem we will go to Step 3: Delete the Word Data registry key process. We discussed this earlier in the thread but you weren't able to complete it.

    I will post the instructions for that with some supplementary steps in a new reply. 


    If none of these solutions work, then it looks as though it will have to be an uninstall/reinstall of Office. Do you still have your installation discs and product key?

    All the best,

    Sharon


    Sharon Roffey

    Queensland, Australia>> You will lose some/all of the personalization you have made to your existing template though.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2010-04-18T16:56:40+00:00

    Hi Sharon,

    Your suggestion didn’t work, I’m sorry to say.

    The problem is attached to the Font section of the Ribbon. For instance, I worked on a document that was three pages long. I finished up writing the document and there was no blue underline; however, when I returned to the top of the document and changed the title’s font characteristic, the whole document became underlined in blue.

    Regards,

    m-

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments