Why is Outlook sending meeting updates to all attendees instead of only those added or deleted?

Anonymous
2024-06-12T21:09:15+00:00

Hello,

I am using Outlook client 1.2024.605.100 with M365. I understand that Microsoft has taken away the user option to send updates to all meeting participants or only those added to or deleted from the list instead of letting the organizer make the decision. The problem is that meeting updates ALWAYS go to ALL participants even though I may have added or deleted just one or two people. Server-side logic is only helpful if it actually works, and I see no evidence that this is the case.

Situation: I add or delete one or two people to a meeting MAKING NO OTHER CHANGES to the invitation. Everyone already on the list receives the invitation again.

Sending a meeting update to 40 people who have already responded just because I have added or deleted one person is NOT helpful. I can find no way to control this unwanted behavior. Please explain how to resolve this issue or how Microsoft plans to resolve it. I have submitted feedback previously, but with no apparent result.

Thank you.

Outlook | Windows | New Outlook for Windows | For home

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

49 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2025-07-01T13:52:05+00:00

    The solution I have finally found is using the new outlook version to update attendees. In that case, it will ask if you want to notify all or just those deleted and added.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2025-06-28T00:16:56+00:00

    Unfortunately, I select this every time except it's still sending to all.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2025-06-24T07:44:40+00:00

    I'm confused how Deleting and recreating the meeting invitation instead of updating it, to avoid sending an update to all attendees would make this situation better? Aren't each of your clients going to receive a cancellation and then a new invitation? How does that not create more confusion and items in the inbox?

    The issue is that updating the calendar entry by adding another user causes an update to all attendees. (I would expect a change in time to send an update.. but for adding a user.. no, I would not expect it or want it).

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2025-06-23T15:29:56+00:00

    I'm confused how Deleting and recreating the meeting invitation instead of updating it, to avoid sending an update to all attendees would make this situation better? Aren't each of your clients going to receive a cancellation and then a new invitation? How does that not create more confusion and items in the inbox?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2025-06-23T14:59:31+00:00

    I have the same problem - I do not want it to go to all people. just those I have added.

    Its very inconvenient and unnecessarily adds to already full inboxes!!!!!! Especially if it is a large meeting.

    I understand if you were changing the body detail or adding a document. However, I cannot see why the tracking tab is not sufficient if attendees' need to see who is in the meeting ?

    The programmers either didn't ask for a consensus from users, or have a real idea about how this affects different job tasks

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments