Issues with new outlook not marking emails as read or deleting from server when I delete them

Anonymous
2024-01-04T15:00:34+00:00

In new outlook, I have mark emails as read as soon as they are opened. They initially show as read but the number of unread emails doesn't always reduce and if I select show all unread emails most of what I have read show as unread again. This is very frustrating as I then have to open all the emails again on my iphone to mark them as read. I also have an issue with deleting emails in New outlook as they still show as available on the server so do not delete on my other devices.

Outlook | Windows | New Outlook for Windows | For business

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

58 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-01-05T16:20:48+00:00

    Hello Nic F ,

    Unfortunately, I don't have any further troubleshooting to offer.

    There are many knowledgeable users active on the forum and I hope that someone else can offer further insight on your issue.

    Thanks,

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-01-05T09:40:41+00:00

    Hi Jeremy

    I just use the desktop app. One other thing I have just remembered is that if I delete an email that is already marked as unread, when it gets to the Deleted Items folder it is marked as unread again, so I have to go and mark all as read.

    Regards

    Nic

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-01-04T16:01:01+00:00

    Hello Nic F, my name is Jeremy and I am happy to help you today.

    Do you use both outlook on the web and the desktop app?

    If you are using both there is a sync feature that may be causing the issue.

    Are you trying to make the change on outlook.com?

    Try making the change on the desktop app.

    If you have automatic syncing set you will need to change it on the desktop version.

    Thank you for reaching out to the community forums and have a good rest of your day.

    Regards,

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments