Using Classic Outlook on Windows for personal email, calendar, and contact management
My issue has been gone but I do not know how. I did not do anything.
This browser is no longer supported.
Upgrade to Microsoft Edge to take advantage of the latest features, security updates, and technical support.
When I press delete - like in any other Microsoft tool, i mean delete the immediate text. But for some reason, Outlook started to use this key to delete e-mail. Where can I swich it off?
It´s really frustrating, I really wonder how people at Microsoft think. For example, they added annoying function where I have to first confirm editing a Word file before I start editing it (WHY?). But now I can accidentally delete an entire e-mail by a very predictable action. WHY! Just stop changing things for worse. Everytime I reinstall my windows, I need to go through the ordeal of swiching all these "bright ideas" off.
Using Classic Outlook on Windows for personal email, calendar, and contact management
Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.
My issue has been gone but I do not know how. I did not do anything.
I also have the same problem in the outlook e-mail app, hopefully microsoft can fix this!
This fix is not a fix. I have tried it and the problem persists.
All I want to do is delete something from a reply to an email that I am composing in the reading pane. I do not wish to delete the email that I am replying to. But if I press delete, that is what happens. It is insanely irritating and totally unnecessary. I mean, when does *anyone* want to delete an email they are halfway through replying to?!
Issue persists. Solution seems to be relevant only for older versions of outlook.
I suggest turning on the Message Handling setting for Action Confirmations to "confirm that the action was successful" so that you have a few seconds to undo before diving into the deleted items folder.
However, this is a terrible configuration and needs to be reversed before it results in business disruptions due to unknowingly deleting emails.
PLEASE MICROSOFT FIX THIS. IT HAS BEEN DRIVING ME CRAZY.