Outlook asks to save when closing appointments without any change

Anonymous
2023-01-02T08:14:20+00:00

When I open any appointment in outlook Calendar I have to save it before closing if I have locked my PC in between. Even If I did not change anything (applies to any invite also empty freshly created ones and also applies when outlook is started in safe mode + also applies on different PC / different account)

[![](https://learn-attachment.microsoft.com/api/attachments/20b86f9d-1cc2-4011-8f4d-a64e9f945f58?platform=QnASteps to reproduce:

  1. Open Outlook calendar, and open any appointment
  2. Put laptop to lock mode (windows key + L)
  3. Log in again
  4. Click the 'X' icon to close the appointment
  5. Outlook will pop up an alert box "Want to save your changes? Yes | No | Cancel " and the user has to select something.](https://learn-attachment.microsoft.com/api/attachments/20b86f9d-1cc2-4011-8f4d-a64e9f945f58?platform=QnA&fud_access=wJJIheezUklbAN2ppeDns8cDNpYs3nCYjgitr%2bfFBh2dqlqMuW7np3F6Utp%2fKMltnRRYFtVjOMO5tpbpW9UyRAwvLeec5emAPixgq9ta07Dgnp2aq5eJbnfd%2fU3qhn54gvgJwJvybOaDZLdxxWbmUU55lRVcs%2b2rsZqD5C%2f2ugIy6sqE3bmcGNiEPEvYKI16fklw5WYaFGrnASySzjzYPBMvt%2bVOvAQMf93S5Ko5apovha8xkf2t4FEpnnplUjx6vzNpK1AJ%2bm5J3PVtyfBv2Ngxo%2bKQEU%2b1bEbIrW6CGfvnpbcta1O6MDU7%2b9Ea77rcFd7uju0GTB3L41UvMQuArmQC6FPPSvSN6qLyVexBhQGTMqZUIG5uwLawp5kn016qCxHiiHVoGPOhOPlZjc2pXoVl6o5NdZl4BiPgXi2mF4g%3d "filestore.community.support.microsoft.com")

Disabling the weather information, scaling equal, new profile did not help for me, any idea how to solve this?

NOTE: There is still no solution / fix for this issue

Outlook | Windows | Classic Outlook for Windows | For home

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

86 answers

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Anonymous
    2023-01-04T12:33:36+00:00

    Dear Fnurk,

    Thank you for your reply.
    I'm doing more research and testing on this issue, but since the reasons can be varied, please try more things:

    a.
    Please navigate to File > Options > Mail > Save messagesto disable “Automatically save items that have not been sent after this many minutes” feature on the Outlook client. If this feature is enabled, try disabling it and see if the problem persists.

    b.
    the issue might be caused by corrupted add-in in Outlook, it is recommended you run Outlook on safe mode.

    1. Exit Outlook client.
    2. Right-click Start button to Run.
    3. Type "Outlook /safe" on the Run box and press Enter.

    (Note: there is the space but not quotation marks in the command)
    Open Outlook in safe mode - Microsoft Support

    c.
    Clear cache files in Outlook. Before we start the liquidation process, please save your work in Outlook and close Outlook.

    1. Press the Windows key (the key with the Windows logo) and the R key at the same time. The Run dialog box pops up.
    2. Type or paste %localappdata%MicrosoftOutlook in the Open box and click the OK button.
    3. Locate the Roaming Cache folder and double-click it to view the cache files.
    4. Press Ctrl + A to select all cache files, then right-click and click the Delete button in the menu.

    you can also try to clear the cache in Skype for Business, for the detailed steps, please follow below:

    1. Log out of Skype for Business.
    2. Delete any sign-in information.
    3. Exit Skype for Business.
    4. In File Explorer, navigate to "%localappdata%\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Lync".
    5. Delete the sip_profileName folder.
    6. Delete all files in Tracing folder but do not delete the folder itself.
    7. Open the command prompt and run "ipconfig /flushdns".

    Hope this information is useful to you. If there is any progress on the issue, please update it with this post and we will do our best to help you.

    Thank you for your patience and cooperation, I wish you all the best!

    Happy new year! Regards,Winter | Microsoft Community Moderator

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2023-01-04T14:08:02+00:00

    thanks for the reply

    also tried these:

    A: no result if i uncheck or change minutes also if i restart outlook no difference

    B: already done this as mentioned in my original post, but no improvement

    C1: done but no improvement

    C2: I don't have skype so don't have that folder...

    Any other suggestions? Please note: I think this important! --> I only experience this when i lock my pc in between, not when I open and close it...

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2023-01-05T13:17:59+00:00

    Dear Fnurk,

    Thank you for your reply.

    Sorry this bothered you, because this issue only experience this when you lock your pc in between, It may also be related to the Windows lock PC. Please forgive me, we lack abundant knowledge of Windows. For this, we have separate dedicated team who have special expertise in Microsoft Windows and working on Windows related queries only. Please also raise a ticket with Windows help & learning (microsoft.com), then our support engineers will check and assist you on your issues.

    I will continue to research this issue. If there is any progress on the issue, please update it with this post

    Thank you for your patience and cooperation,
    I wish you all the best!

    Regards,Winter | Microsoft Community Moderator

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2023-01-05T14:33:40+00:00

    Dear Fnurk,

    Thank you for your reply.

    I'm doing more research and testing on this issue

    A behavior is observed, I kindly ask you to verify with me.

    When I reproduce your problem on my computer:

    1. Open Outlook calendar, and open any appointment
    2. Put laptop to lock mode (windows key + L)
    3. Log in again
    4. Click the 'X' icon to close the appointment
    5. Outlook will pop up an alert box "Want to save your changes? Yes | No | Cancel " and the user has to select something.

    the result is the same

    When I click on someone else's calendar, in other words, I do not have permission and cannot edit it. Then put laptop to lock mode (windows key + L), and when I log in again and close this appointment, there is no hint here. There is no pop-up asking you to save. the appointment closed directly. The only difference I noticed was the blinking cursor.



    To sum up, I think, is the "cursor" effect. When there is a cursor, you are in edit mode by default, so in order to avoid the trouble caused by the fact that your edited something is not saved, Outlook will prompt you to save. But if you don't have permission to change, that is, when the cursor doesn't appear in the open calendar, it won't think you made an edit. This is similar to Read-only mode.

    If I misunderstand something, please correct it.

    If there is any progress on the issue, please update it with this post and we will do our best to help you.

    Thank you for your patience and cooperation,
    I wish you all the best!

    Regards,Winter | Microsoft Community Moderator

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2023-01-05T15:31:21+00:00

    i think you misunderstood indeed, you create a new appointment, and start opening other calendars, thats not the case in my example, let me rephrase again:

    1. Open your own Outlook calendar, and open any existing appointment in your own calendar by double clicking on the appointment (screen pops up with the appointment and details, don't click anything else)
    2. Put laptop to lock mode (windows key + L)
    3. Log in again
    4. Click the 'X' icon to close the appointment
    5. Outlook will pop up an alert box "Want to save your changes? Yes | No | Cancel " and the user has to select something.

    Was this answer helpful?

    30+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments